Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Question New to servers with some very basic questions

Hi All;
    Like the title says, I am new to servers and I need a little advice to get started please.
    I bought a PowerEdge 1950 III server (circa 2008) and a pair of Seagate 300 GB Cheatah SAS drives in the proper sleds. I was hoping to set this up as a home network server of sorts.
    The unit powers up fine and I can get into the bios and the PERC 6/i RAID configuration utility. This shows the drives correctly as physical drives, but that's it.
    When I try to install an OS, it shows no visible drives on which to install the OS.
    I can't figure out how to configure the drives so that they are useable. How do you do this?

I looked through the Dell SAS RAID Storage Manager User Guide, but it looks like it needs to run on an operating system, so I cant use it yet.
    I did notice it says in several places that no drives that are part of the RAID array should contain the OS.
    So where does the OS install and live?
    This rig is a 1U height and only has space for two internal 3.5" hot swap drives. So if they are part of a RAID 1 or 10 array, where does the OS go?

Appreciate any help at all thanks.
    rstew

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    I have no solution but you mentioned installing an OS but which one? Will it be Windows Server or maybe Apache or Linux server software? I'm thinking of installing Windows Home Server but only because I have a spare computer.

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    Welcome to "you have no drivers for your controller so can't install". You need to obtain the Dell drivers for the disk controller and have them ready on a floppy / USB. Go to the Dell site and enter the service tag number to be taken to the driver page.
    What OS are you trying to install?

You should always load the OS on your RAID array. The "standard" is to use RAID 1 for the OS, speed vs capacity, and use RAID 5/6 for data, capacity vs speed.