Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows Store not working in Windows 10

    I recently upgraded a new machine to win10 and then did a clean install. I managed to open windows store once and then never again. It just fails to respond.

    From Googling this, it seems that the store has been problematic for some people for some time. There are lots of proposed solutions out there but none have worked for me. These are the things that I've tried. Clearing the cache manually, running the tool WSRestore, running the other app fixing tool on the MS website, running system restore and running the System File Checker. Nothing has worked. My wife has an account on the machine and her version works just fine. I am logging in with a local account but I have also tried using a Microsoft login.

    Has anyone else experienced this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,752
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 650 Times in 573 Posts
    Woody covered this in an article today (section headed Windows 10 Store won’t start on page 2), and has links to a few workarounds, but ends that section with, "It’s another problem that doesn’t seem to have a single solution.":

    12 Windows 10 install issues -- and what to do about them

    It sounds like you've tried most things though. (You meant WSreset, not WSrestore, right?)

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Woody covered this in an article today (section headed Windows 10 Store wonít start on page 2), and has links to a few workarounds, but ends that section with, "Itís another problem that doesnít seem to have a single solution.":

    12 Windows 10 install issues -- and what to do about them

    It sounds like you've tried most things though. (You meant WSreset, not WSrestore, right?)
    I do mean reset, not restore. More speed less haste!
    That's some coincidence. I will have a look at the article now. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Have you tried the elevated cmd -

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth to see what that reports.

    It's been known to hang at 20% but does eventually complete.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Paste following in notepad. Save as .cmd and run as admin.
    Code:
    PowerShell -ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted -Command "& {$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest}"

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Sudo15. It didn't work (error - no image detected - even though it appeared to run and hung at 20% as expected) but you have introduced me to the DISM command which I didn't know about. Prior to buying this new box all my machines have been running either Win 7 or XP. Win 8 has completely passed me by so there must be a ton of stuff I need to catch up on. Thanks for the heads up.

    Just for the sake of completeness, I ran SFC in safe mode but same story. It detects corrupt files but can't fix them. I am going to look at DISM in more detail but otherwise just wait for the mighty corporation to fix this.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks djohnson. I ran this command a couple of nights ago without success. I've just repeated it in the way you suggest but still no joy.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by markf View Post
    Thanks Sudo15. It didn't work (error - no image detected - even though it appeared to run and hung at 20% as expected) but you have introduced me to the DISM command which I didn't know about. Prior to buying this new box all my machines have been running either Win 7 or XP. Win 8 has completely passed me by so there must be a ton of stuff I need to catch up on. Thanks for the heads up.

    Just for the sake of completeness, I ran SFC in safe mode but same story. It detects corrupt files but can't fix them. I am going to look at DISM in more detail but otherwise just wait for the mighty corporation to fix this.
    That Dism error doesn't sound good.

    You may be interested in these basic Dism cmds http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/7...-10-image.html and a bit more on sfc /scannow when it reports it is unable to repair all files.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html

    To view what the sfc was unable to repair, you can enter this cmd in a Command Prompt (Admin) which will put an icon onto the Desktop which will open the CBS log in Notepad.

    findstr /c:"[SR]" %windir%\Logs\CBS\CBS.log >"%userprofile%\Desktop\sfcdetails.txt

    If push comes to shove then you may have to resort to at least a Refresh.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/4...dows-10-a.html
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-10-09 at 11:39.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Oh dear. I am just beginning to realise how out of date I am. I keep thinking "But what image file?" and now I have to think "install.esd, not i386".

    It gets worse... when I said 'clean install' I meant 'clean'. Bare metal and in the process obliterated about 7 partitions thinking no going back to Win 8. I am guessing that an install.wim file should have been stored somewhere on the disk. There isn't at the moment.

    I am going to slow down, kick back and do some reading.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,631
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 882 Times in 844 Posts
    If you are still within 30 days of the upgrade then you can use the Roll back option as the machine will still have the Windows.old folder which is your previous OS and set up - but if you have used the Reset option, the Roll back will no longer be available if I remember all of what has been posted about Win 10.

    If you are able to roll back, you can then take stock and have a dig around Google to see what you can learn about Win 10 before going back in.

    However, it would have been prudent to have created a full external system image before the upgrade.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •