Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

    Best of breed: Win10's hybrid backup system




    TOP STORY

    Best of breed: Win10's hybrid backup system


    By Fred Langa

    Win10 blends the best parts of Win7's and Win8's backup/restore tools to create a new hybrid that could well be the best archive-and-recover system ever. When set up properly, Win10 gives you redundant, automatic, local, and remote backups of user files, making them effectively loss-proof.

    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/top-story/best-of-breed-win10s-hybrid-backup-system (paid content, opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL, US
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Best of breed: Win10's hybrid backup system

    Awesome detailing of Win10's backup feastures... thanks Mike.
    Cary

    Quote Originally Posted by Kathleen Atkins View Post



    TOP STORY

    Best of breed: Win10's hybrid backup system


    By Fred Langa

    Win10 blends the best parts of Win7's and Win8's backup/restore tools to create a new hybrid that could well be the best archive-and-recover system ever. When set up properly, Win10 gives you redundant, automatic, local, and remote backups of user files, making them effectively loss-proof.

    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/top-story/best-of-breed-win10s-hybrid-backup-system (paid content, opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    what about arbitrary Restore?

    What if you just want to Restore arbitrarily? You list the method to restore from a boot disk after some emergency but what if you just want to put the confuser back to the way it was in your last backup.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Fred,

    Here is some info for you.

    The Volume Shadow Copy Service ("VSS") in Windows 10 is, per Level 2 Microsoft Tech Support, broken and the last stable version was Windows 7.

    I use Shadow Protect Desktop for image backups and it kept failing in Windows 10 despite being rock solid in Windows 7. I even tried Acronis and it too failed. At that point I did troubleshooting and read more than I ever wanted to know about VSS and its errors. Microsoft Level 1 told me it was the fault of 3rd party software, which was to be expected. I told them they were wrong because even in a fresh installation of Windows 10 the Command Prompt (Admin) of VSS LIST WRITERS would unexpectedly fail, locking up and not proceeding.

    I paid the $149.00 for Level 2 and spent over 24 hours this past weekend working with Level 2 techs to find what was causing the system to fail. Finally one tech found that VSS has not been stable since Windows 7, apologized, refunded my money and suggested I wait for a fix to VSS at some point in the future. He also said I was the first fully documented case of this problem. I said OK and took the refund.

    A few days later another Level 2 tech called because apparently multiple case numbers had been opened. I told him the money had been refunded because the VSS problem was in Windows 10. He didn't believe me and did some research. He then came back on the phone and said I was correct and that his supervisor had heard of a second case like mine that very day and now there were two fully documented cases of the problem.

    So why did I write this? Because some of your users may have issues with any image backups, if not any backups, occurring in Windows 10 if that program needs a functioning VSS.

    YMMV.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    VSS works in W8/8.1 as well - just for the record.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    It will work some of the time, but it isn't fully functional in 8/8.1 or 10 per Microsoft. VSS works sometimes for me. The best way for me to get it to work is to reboot right after a job was to start and let the job run before VSS becomes locked by some unknown issue. But as I said MS confirmed to me that there is now a second documented case with my issues and they were forwarding their info to the developers. To me that means it will possibly be addressed in SP1.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to john181818 For This Useful Post:

    dvhirst (2015-10-15)

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger bmeacham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Austin, Texas, USA
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    If I upgrade a machine from Win7 or Win8.1 to Win10 and later do a Refresh, what operating system will I end up with? I upgraded a Win8 machine to Win8.1 and later did a Refresh. It put the machine back to Win8!
    Bill Meacham
    bmeacham98 AT yahoo.com

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    There will be no SP1. There may be specific targets for inclusion of substantial updates such as the code name Threshold 2 which is rumored to be in November. Microsoft has said they will release fixes and features when they are ready rather than wait for a "big bang".

    Joe

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    dvhirst (2015-10-15)

  11. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    @bmeachem

    Should be Win10 if you use the built-in tools.

    Joe

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    bmeacham (2015-10-15)

  13. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by bmeacham View Post
    If I upgrade a machine from Win7 or Win8.1 to Win10 and later do a Refresh, what operating system will I end up with?
    Win10. If you're not convinced think about this. After you have upgraded to Win10 -and verified that activation has worked (your license has been correctly record at MS servers)- do a Reset (NB. save data files first from ALL partitions!). Now when you do a Refresh what do you think you will end up with? Answer: there's nothing to go back to except Win10.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to musicrab For This Useful Post:

    bmeacham (2015-10-15)

  15. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    There will be no SP1. There may be specific targets for inclusion of substantial updates such as the code name Threshold 2 which is rumored to be in November. Microsoft has said they will release fixes and features when they are ready rather than wait for a "big bang".

    Joe
    I figure I have 6-8 months to wait and hope it can be less. I really like having my image backups actually happening in the background without errors or having to reboot each time just as the backup begins.

  16. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Unfortunately with Windows 10 right now Microsoft isn't releasing information about what is being fixed when patches are released. So, you may have a difficult time telling when it is fixed. Microsoft has said they will provide that information to Enterprise customers but haven't done that yet. Perhaps if enough people yell they will alter the policy.

    Joe

  17. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by john181818 View Post
    It will work some of the time, but it isn't fully functional in 8/8.1 or 10 per Microsoft
    Please provide evidence of VSS not being fully functional.

    cheers, Paul

  18. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    On my Win10 system, Control Panel/System and Security/File History says, "For your security, some settings are managed by your system administrator." Fine, but I'm not in an office situation, I'm at home, one computer, and I set it up. "File History is off" and I cannot turn it on. What is going on? I don't HAVE s system administrator other than me, so why can't I turn File History on?

    Same if I go to Update and Security on the Settings menu. Backup is off and I cannot turn it on, and it says, "Some settings are managed by your organization." ???!!! I don't HAVE an organization!

    Any suggestions?

  19. #15
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,179
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 983 Times in 913 Posts
    That is usually a Group Policy setting, which is just a registry change. See if this article helps.
    http://www.grouppolicy.biz/2010/06/h...he-easier-way/

    cheers, Paul

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •