Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    New Mobo Search- mindboggling

    Hello:

    Currently using Msi Mobo w/Athlon IIX2core cpu, running 32 bit Win7, 8 gb ram(probably only need 4 max), 1GB Hd, Voice/Fax Modem(Answering machine),DVD writer,CD Rom. USB 2.0 hardware such as external drives. Note the Mobo not compatible w/win10 due to monitor interface.

    Finding it difficult to locate mobo with at least 2 pci ( this is in case of other hardware failure, running older interface cards ( 8 bit and/or 16 bit) and older software that I don't want to upgrade, especially rewriting code - like from Turbo pascal to modern code).

    About the only conclusion that seems to work is running 2 systems. Eventually it appears that a mobo/os to run the 8 & 16 bit hardware and old programs is not going to be possible.

    I will appreciate input on this mindboggling search.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Do not upgrade that PC, keep it for running your old stuff.
    There appear to be plenty of mobos with 1 x PCI slot so you may need 2 PCs for older hardware, although you should be able to get more modern cards to do the work.
    What are the cards that need PCI?

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    The mention of 8-bit and 16-bit hardware suggests the motherboard would also need ISA slots on it, those have been gone for some time. Another kicker with new boards is the BIOS may not have support for floppy drives, I've kept an old WinXP computer just because I have an Epson combination 3.5" and 5.25" drive in it for recovering data as needed from the floppy disks. Some boards may be available with support for A: but no mention of B:.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Do not upgrade that PC, keep it for running your old stuff.
    There appear to be plenty of mobos with 1 x PCI slot so you may need 2 PCs for older hardware, although you should be able to get more modern cards to do the work.
    What are the cards that need PCI?

    cheers, Paul
    Geovision - version xp compatible
    Telephone answering machine- version xp compatible and/or have system win7 compatible not win10 compatible.

    Thank you for your input!

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    The mention of 8-bit and 16-bit hardware suggests the motherboard would also need ISA slots on it, those have been gone for some time. Another kicker with new boards is the BIOS may not have support for floppy drives, I've kept an old WinXP computer just because I have an Epson combination 3.5" and 5.25" drive in it for recovering data as needed from the floppy disks. Some boards may be available with support for A: but no mention of B:.
    Thank you Berton for your response!

    Fortunately, converted all my floppy data into CD,dvd, or hd image bak's.

    Unfortunately, my xp machine died both the mobo and power supply crashed beyond revival. Don't need the ISA but my current system supports both IDE and SATA so I plan to move the win7 machine to an xp machine for the needed interface.

    Appreciate your input!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    About the only conclusion that seems to work is running 2 systems. Eventually it appears that a mobo/os to run the 8 & 16 bit hardware and old programs is not going to be possible.
    That would most definitely be my conclusion too.
    All the newest tech will just pass you by and you'll be stuck on some antiquated system, it's far better to have two systems.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    You could simplify your life a bit with a KVM switch -- it would allow you to run both computers with one monitor, mouse, and keyboard.

    Here are some KVM switches by iogear: http://www.iogear.com/kvm-switch.htm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •