Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 8 License expired

    I purchased a copy of Wndows 8 three years ago not knowing that it was on a clock. The license has expired. How can I install another version of Windows without looking everything?

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    It's not "on a clock"...something happened to the activation.

    You didn't mention what type of system, but you can try the following steps from the HP website...

    http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Noteboo...e/td-p/4889076

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have Dell. I purchased the software through a campus software program.

  4. #4
    jwoods
    Guest
    The steps aren't unique to HP, so I would suggest giving them a try.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    The steps aren't unique to HP, so I would suggest giving them a try.
    Thanks for the suggestion, but it did not work.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,175
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 982 Times in 912 Posts
    What message do you get saying your license has expired? A screen shot may be useful.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here is the screen shot: Activate Windows.jpg

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Dr. Bob:

    Are you signed in as an administrator on your computer when you try to do the upgrade? And are you using the Product Key that is on the envelope that the install DVD came in? In fact, will it allow you to enter a different Product Key? That option appears to be grayed out.

    Jim

  9. #9
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might try doing a phone activation...

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/950929

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Dr. Bob:

    Are you signed in as an administrator on your computer when you try to do the upgrade? And are you using the Product Key that is on the envelope that the install DVD came in? In fact, will it allow you to enter a different Product Key? That option appears to be grayed out.

    Jim
    I am signed in as an administrator. It does not allow me to enter another key. It also won't allow me to install another version of Windows. I have a current copy of Windows 7 that was on my previous computer that I parted out. I just made a mistake of using an academic volume license to install on my system. Now I need to get it gone and start with a new one. I am about ready to install Linux and go from there.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,746
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drbob12 View Post
    I am signed in as an administrator.
    And the other part of the red warning at the top of your screenshot: Is UAC set to default?
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-10-23 at 19:38.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    And the other part of the red warning at the top of your screenshot: Is UAC set to default?
    That was set to a stronger setting. When corrected, it got me further, but I still have the fundamental problem that the product key has expired for the product (operating system) that I have installed. I have the original product key for the version of Windows that upgraded from, but it won't accept it. I also have a good copy of a Windows 7, but I can't get it to install. The system freezes when I try. I have never had a product key expire before and so was not prepared for it when it did.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,175
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 982 Times in 912 Posts
    Try phone activation, then you will know if your key is valid.

    cheers, Paul

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenville, TX
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Try phone activation, then you will know if your key is valid.

    cheers, Paul
    I am confident that the key is no longer valid. I want to find out if I can install another version of Windows without trashing my system. If I have to wipe the system and start over, I will, but want to avoid the pain if possible.

  15. #15
    jwoods
    Guest
    Any upgrade will require a valid product key.

    You might download and run the free Belarc Advisor tool, and confirm that the product key it finds is the one you think is invalid.

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-10-24 at 16:56.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •