Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Keyboard combination to activate a window

    Is there a combo that will activate a window in (Windows and Firefox)? I often have to use mouse to click in the window to activate it, and I'd prefer a combo. Have searched 'Net, to no avail.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    acerfmayer,

    Of course you can alt+tab between your open windows. You can also use the Windows key and a number key to select the application pinned to the task bar in that ordinal position.

    Here's a complete list of FireFox shortcut keys. HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Sorry, RetiredGeek, I didn't better explain what I'm after: I know how to switch between windows & how to select an application.

    I don't know how - if possible - to avoid having to use the mouse to 'click' in the open window to have its focus, activate it. I'd like to be able to use the keyboard instead of the mouse for this purpose.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you mean switching tabs within Firefox try CTRL + n (where "n" is the number of the tab to which you wish to switch).

    Otherwise, just switching applications should activate the application you choose.

    Joe

  5. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might consider using the Applications tab in Windows Task Manager...

    Use the Up/Down arrows to select the application (window), and then do ALT+S to Switch To...

    Applications_Task Manager.jpg

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    557
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    Your terminology is unusual, as changing focus is the same thing as switching windows. For those purposes, [Alt-Tab], [Alt-Escape], and [Windows-Tab] are the usual recommendations. Most applications also support [Control-Tab] for switching tabs within a single application.

    If you want to actually start a program with the keyboard that's a different matter. It sounds like you want to globally bind Microsoft Word to a single key sequence, for instance. The old Macro Recorder could do that but Macro Recorder is obsolete and long gone.

    For the moment the only thing I can recommend is keyboard navigation, which duplicates the click sequences of the mouse. Using [Control-Escape], [Tab] and the arrow keys, you can navigate the desktop manually. Again though, all you are doing is substituting the keyboard for the mouse by doing this.

    Even the Assistive Access options for disabled persons won't be enough here, as far as I can see. There's probably some third-party software that can help you out though.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you for enlightening me about the terminology.

    I'll try once more to explain what Iím after:I often cannot navigate in a window (Word, Firefox) until I mouse click in the window. Iím after a keyboard shortcut to emulate that click (I donít want to switch windows)

    Thank you

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    Thank you for enlightening me about the terminology.

    I'll try once more to explain what Iím after:I often cannot navigate in a window (Word, Firefox) until I mouse click in the window. Iím after a keyboard shortcut to emulate that click (I donít want to switch windows)

    Thank you
    I frequently see what you are seeing happen and have to click in a page. It's Windows losing Focus as to what is desired and on my computers it's frequently because I do something else, click somewhere else that changes the focus. Only way I've found is to just click in the window I need. An example just now: I clicked on my AV in the Notification Area, it opened then I closed it. Focus on this page was gone so I had to click to start typing again. Moving the mouse into this pane and pressing Enter did nothing, back to clicking the mouse.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,745
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 649 Times in 572 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    Keyboard combination to activate a window
    Is there a combo that will activate a window in (Windows and Firefox)? I often have to use mouse to click in the window to activate it, and I'd prefer a combo.
    Quote Originally Posted by acerfmayer View Post
    I'll try once more to explain what I’m after:I often cannot navigate in a window (Word, Firefox) until I mouse click in the window. I’m after a keyboard shortcut to emulate that click (I don’t want to switch windows)
    Could you explain what the difference is between activating a window and switching to it? Keyboard input can only be sent to one window at a time.

    Have you considered setting Activate a window by hovering over it with the mouse?
    Last edited by BruceR; 2015-10-29 at 19:44. Reason: link!

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to BruceR For This Useful Post:

    wavy (2015-10-30)

  11. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for replying, Berton.

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,365
    Thanks
    232
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    I can understand this a bit. I have had the occasion where a window is 'on top' but does not respond as an active window would. For example using the scroll wheel.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  13. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    And thank you, Wavy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •