Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    922
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Word 2016 Run as Administrator

    I've just installed Office 365 to have a look. Right-clicking on the Word icon offers "Run as Administrator." The main things that Google turns up have to do with activation. Is there some other purpose for this option? I recall Vista and Word 2007 required running as an Admin in order to open templates with VBA code and save. I skipped Vista because of that.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Why are you right-clicking on the icon? The ability to "Run as Administrator" is a standard right-click option - all programs have it AFAIK.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    922
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    I right-clicked on the Word tile because I want to add it to the taskbar. The option does not appear with Word 2010, it does appear with Word 2013 and 2016. I'm wondering that the advantage is, other than relating to updates (which I found by Googling).

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,140
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    word.png
    Click to enlarge

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    922
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Noted. But it does not appear when I right-click the Word icon on the Start menu. In any case, that is not the point. I'm asking what the option does... what is the advantage, if there is one?

    Word Right-Click.JPG

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by richardbarrett View Post
    I right-clicked on the Word tile because I want to add it to the taskbar. The option does not appear with Word 2010, it does appear with Word 2013 and 2016. I'm wondering that the advantage is, other than relating to updates (which I found by Googling).
    It does indeed appear with Word 2010, which is what I use, and it has nothing to do with updates. Depending on how a systems Administrator configures a system, "Run as Administrator" might be required to allow certain settings used by a program to be changed, or even to run at all.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •