Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows Media Player in Win 10

    Did I miss something? I now have WMP installed in Win 10. When did that happen, and I'm glad!!! I know I've lost some memory (in my head) but don't recall installing that myself. The version is 12.0.10011.16384

    Any comments?

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    399
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
    If you upgraded from Win 8/8,1, it would have come with you.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Trev View Post
    If you upgraded from Win 8/8,1, it would have come with you.
    Nope, this has been a clean install since Oct '14

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Windows Media Player has always been in Windows 10. Its Windows Media Center that has gone missing.

    Jerry

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2015-11-13),rpinsc (2015-11-12)

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    AHHHH,
    Told you some of my ram (in the head) has gone missing....

    Thanks Jerry.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to rpinsc For This Useful Post:

    SkinnyWomen (2015-12-15)

  8. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    You're welcome.

    Jerry

  9. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rpinsc View Post
    AHHHH,
    Told you some of my ram (in the head) has gone missing....

    Thanks Jerry.
    I figure it differently, the storage [hard drive] has become too full and the file allocation table can't be accessed to bring the information forth.

  10. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    362
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    I figure it differently, the storage [hard drive] has become too full and the file allocation table can't be accessed to bring the information forth.
    You just described my problem exactly!

  11. #9
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You're better off using another player like VLC, or at least keeping more than one player on hand.
    I don't think MS really did anything at all to Media player except add the existing one to W10 that's been around forever.
    Not to much code change, it still isn't an optimal video player imo.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  12. #10
    Star Lounger SkinnyWomen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    houston, texas -usa
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Thumbs up WMP with W10x64-Pro

    My PC runs W10x64-Pro bit WMP was not installed (although it was checked in the Features box.)
    I noticed there are four wmplayer.exe files on W10x64; plus a setup.exe file.
    Windows Search lists one file in the Wow64 Folder and another in the amd64 Folder, with one in the Program Files (86) main folder.
    I used W8.1x64 prior to W10. I paid no attention to which WMP loaded when needed; I assume it was the 32bit version based on what I read today.

    I am wondering which wmplayer.exe file to use with my W10x64-OS?
    I will be installing Audacity some time, and I could use it as a player; or use VLC as recommended above. I' like to have WMP installed as a back-up, but not if I have to do things to the registry, or wrestle with the issues that come with using the 64bit version of WMP ....??
    "... don't think it won't happen just because it hasn't happened yet..."

  13. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    My WMP is located on Apps under W. When I right-click it and choose More then File Location I can right-click the result and choose Properties, gives the actual .exe location which on my Win10 x64 is "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe" /prefetch:1 .

    Or I can right-click the WMP icon I have pinned to the Taskbar and get to the same information.

  14. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    The one in "Program Files (x86)" is the one you want. Move it to the desktop or pin it to the taskbar.
    You can set it as the default program to use for video.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    SkinnyWomen (2015-12-15)

  16. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Use caution, you NEVER want to move a program's .exe/executable file out of the Folder it has been installed in, always create a shortcut then move the shortcut as desired. There may be other programs relying upon seeing an .exe file where it's supposed to be.

  17. #14
    Star Lounger SkinnyWomen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    houston, texas -usa
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    to Berton

    Quote Originally Posted by Berton View Post
    My WMP is located on Apps under W. When I right-click it and choose More then File Location I can right-click the result and choose Properties, gives the actual .exe location which on my Win10 x64 is "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe" /prefetch:1 .

    Or I can right-click the WMP icon I have pinned to the Taskbar and get to the same information.
    ok, its located in: %ProgramFiles(x86)%\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe"

    .... i was a bit worried for awhile there with the way got started on sentence #2....
    Last edited by SkinnyWomen; 2015-12-15 at 14:12. Reason: .
    "... don't think it won't happen just because it hasn't happened yet..."

  18. #15
    Star Lounger SkinnyWomen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    houston, texas -usa
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    to CLiNT

    10-4 thanks...
    "... don't think it won't happen just because it hasn't happened yet..."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •