Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Islamabad
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Will Win7 work on Dell Latitude D610

    Hi all

    An old Dell Latitude D610 is lurking around for quiet a time with WinXP-SP3 and MSSE and latest updates as far as MS provided. Kids normally use it for internet games. It has 1.5GB RAM and 80GB hard-disk.

    I feel somewhat uneasy due to lack of security offered by new OSes.

    Is it recommended to upgrade the OS to Win7 (32-bit) or later?

    I have read a post on TechNet (MS forums):

    Upgrading D610 to Windows 7

    As you can see they have hints for getting drivers as Dell does not provide these. But someone there warned about slow performance.

    Do any of Lounge members ever tried it? If so what was the result?

    TIA

    Kamran
    Islamabad, Pakistan

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,486
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 574 Times in 478 Posts
    Looks like there's some useful info here.

    Dell do odd things with their hardware/firmware and drivers, often to try to prevent you upgrading the base Inspiron to a Latitude or to a Precision, where the the main components are common to all. You might find that the Precision equivalent (if there was one) has W7 drivers available. Conversely, sometimes things like the better wireless card fitted to the Precision version will fail because the Dell drivers 'block' the lower machines from using it (this can sometimes be fixed by extracting the files and modifying the installer *.inf file).

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    mks (2015-12-01),wavy (2015-11-17)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    I had WinXP on a Dell Latitude D810 Notebook then upgraded it to Win7, now has Win8.1 on it. The D610 is quite similar and both models have a limit of 2GB RAM. Main difference between the 2 displays is the D610 is 14.1" and the D810 is 15.6". I keep the D810 as it has an interchangeable bay for Optical Disk Drive, Floppy Drive or additional battery [have the drives but not the extra battery]. The drives have a pop-out button to release them.

  5. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    That is a 32-bit single core Pen M 533MHz FSB CPU with 2GB max DDR2, on a 915PM (discrete video; ATI Mobility Radeon X300) chipset, SATA HDD. That computer was made for XP not a 32-bit more advanced (and demanding) Win OS.

    While it likely will run Win7 or greater (slowly) it is not a good idea IMHO.

    https://www.dell.com/support/home/us...e-d610/manuals
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-11-15 at 12:01. Reason: meant to note single core

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    csmart4125 (2015-11-25)

  7. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,168
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 978 Times in 908 Posts
    There is always a flavour of Linux, if your games will run.
    Other than that, buy something like DeepFreeze and lock the machine down.

    cheers, Paul

  8. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    csmart4125 (2015-11-25),Fascist Nation (2015-11-15),mks (2015-12-01)

  9. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,367
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    You will likely have trouble finding a driver for the ATI Mobility Radeon X300 GPU. First thing to check.
    They may have something under a legacy driver section. If it is only used for games just image and if it goes pear shaped restore the image.

    Last edited by wavy; 2015-11-17 at 18:49.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    csmart4125 (2015-11-25)

  11. #7
    2 Star Lounger csmart4125's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
    Satrow, Wavy, PaulT, and FascistNation made excellent points, and I appreciate their thoughts. One thing came to mind--would Vista work on your computer?

    Would more experienced contributors please share their thoughts and input on Vista. Hope everyone has a happy Thanksgiving!

  12. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by csmart4125 View Post
    ....would Vista work on your computer?

    Would more experienced contributors please share their thoughts and input on Vista. ...
    Vista was really MS' push towards adopting a 64-bit OS. 64-bit XP was really for power users/IT to experiment (beta). 64-bit Vista came out of that. The growing pains from the transition and MS' unwillingness to acknowledge that more time was required for hardware device driver development sinked what would become a perfectly good OS (once SP1 was released nine disastrous months later).

    That said, 64-bit Vista will not run on the OP's system. The requirements for 32-bit Vista are more than XP and I do not think they are worth an upgrade. Also, Vista is hitting its end of life April 11, 2017 (a year and a third from now), so unless the OP had access to a free copy of Vista 32-bit it would be a waste of money IMHO. The OP's laptop in my opinion has the very best OS (other than Linux) now for their now limited system.

    The only real upgrade would be to go to 2GB max. If the wifi is not at least G protocol with WPA2, a USB fob should be added. I would survey the installed apps and devices/chips, back up the drive, update the BIOS if not already, check for HDD, SSD, or ODD firmware and install if any. Old system probably good idea to run memtest86, hwmonitor and mfg. HDD diagnostic app(s). Blow out any dust.

    Then clean install XP with all updates and with the latest drivers available including any peripherals, enable XP autoupdate for cash registers per register hack, add a still supported antiviral app, firewall, Malabytes Anti-Exploit, PSI Secunia and disable any autoupdates except AV, browser and harden it, email and harden it. [This means dumping IE8, Outlook Express, XP's firewall.]

    Install any apps the OP used, or suggest still XP supported app replacements. Talk them out of reinstalling any apps they did not use. Run Belarc Advisor to detect any missing security patches.

    Limit the user account and set up an Admin password for the OP they won't forget. I think that is about it as far as getting XP as secure and fast as it will ever be on any system. I would try to avoid installing flash, java, adobe reader, shockwave, silverlight, quicktime, netframework, C++ runtime versions as much as I could.]
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-11-25 at 09:11.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    mks (2015-12-01)

  14. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    I guess if I was the OP and bound and determined to upgrade to 32-bit Win7 I would upgrade to 2GB RAM first, all of the other hardware prep I mentioned above: If the wifi is not at least G protocol with WPA2, a USB fob should be added. I would survey the installed apps and devices/chips, back up the drive (requires external HDD), update the BIOS (found on the Dell support site for your laptop) if not already, check for HDD, SSD, or ODD firmware and install if any. Old system probably good idea to run memtest86, hwmonitor and mfg. HDD diagnostic app(s). Blow out any dust.

    Then survey installed apps with Belarc Advisor and WinAudit. Back up drive. Plan what apps you plan on reinstalling. You can download and use MS' free Easy Transfer app for Win7:
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tuto...nsfer/#upgrade (requires external HDD)

    You need to identify all of the device drivers on your XP laptop and any peripherals (mouse, printer?) and download the latest 32-bit Win7 versions. If 32-bit Win7 supported versions are unavailable download the latest Vista supported drivers (they usually work). If not then download the latest XP versions (they usually do not work). You want the drivers from the chip makers not the old drivers found on the Dell site. Here is how:
    http://forum.scottmueller.com/viewtopic.php?t=1308
    and
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/20894...n-windows.html

    Check the Device Manager after the Win7 installation/updates and device driver installations to make sure no red or yellow flags remain.
    [Linux makes more sense to me.]
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-11-28 at 09:41.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    mks (2015-12-01)

  16. #10
    New Lounger Zahid iqbal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It may be installed. but finding drivers for your hardware is bit difficult task. go ahead and search your hardware drivers before doing this

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Zahid iqbal For This Useful Post:

    mks (2015-12-01)

  18. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,054
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts
    Upgrading the Dell Latitude D610 to Win 7 has certainly been done, but you may need to use Vista drivers for some things. See: http://en.community.dell.com/support...517/t/19300969. The Dell forums are probably the best place to go for specific advice about the Latitude D610.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to macropod For This Useful Post:

    mks (2015-12-01)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •