Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Photo format for Media Player app

    I have put some picturess which I have manipulated in Photoshop Elements on a USB stick and plugged it into my Panasonic smart TV, with a view to displaying them using the Media Player app. The pictures display as thumbnails but when I try to display full screen I get the message "format not supported",the photos were saved as jpg; I tried saving in several other formats - TIFF etc - but they do not even display as thumbnails. I tried a jpg picture straight off the camera and that was fine. Is there a way of making a manipulated image display - is it something to do with the xif data that might get lost or altered in Photoshop. I can display the photos if I put them on a laptop and connect that to the TV via an HDMI cable, but that is much less convenient than using an USB stick.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    It sounds like Photoshop Elements has some sort of lock on them. If you put them on a laptop, can you open them and then "save-as" or export them, to get them out of Photoshop Elements? Or can you open them in another program, such as Paint or Irfanview?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2015-11-18)

  4. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Another idea or option if you can view the images is to use PrntScrn and Copy then Paste into Paint or other graphics program such as IrfanView or GIMP or Paint .Net to Save them as a slightly different name. I've done that in the past with a view but could be tedious if there's a large number of them.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Berton For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2015-11-18)

  6. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thank you both. I have opened a photo that has had nothing done to it and opened it in Serif Photo Plus, altered a few things and saved it as a jpg. I also took a photo that had been through Elements and opened it in IrfanView - then saved it as a jpg again. Both of these photos then displayed OK in Media Player. It is obvious that Elements jpg is the problem - it is version 4 running in Windows 7, very old, maybe that is the problem. The obvious solution is to use Photo Plus in future, but I really like Elements 4. Any further comments would be appreciated.

  7. #5
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    I use Irfanview if I don't have a lot of manipulation to do on the pic. Otherwise, I often use Paint. Paint is a very powerful program, but it's also "quick and dirty". You can do a lot, but you can't undo what you did, unless you keep hitting the undo icon, which will undo EVERYTHING you have done up to that point.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2015-11-19)

  9. #6
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    You might try stripping the metadata out.

    And see compatibility at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JPEG_F...#Compatibility

    There are at least 2 types of files structures for JPG files.

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2015-11-19)

  11. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,411
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 406 Times in 378 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    You might try stripping the metadata out.

    And see compatibility at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JPEG_F...#Compatibility

    There are at least 2 types of files structures for JPG files.

    How do you strip out the metadata?

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2015-11-19)

  13. #8
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    How do you strip out the metadata?
    Try Right Click
    Properties
    Details
    See bottom of popup
    You can then make a copy w/o info or remove selected.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  14. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wavy For This Useful Post:

    mike21 (2015-11-19),mrjimphelps (2015-11-19)

  15. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    233
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks again to you all - I tried the last suggestion of right-clicking properties and making a copy with the info removed and it worked fine - I will use this method for the one-off occasions when I want to display a photo. I have looked at the Wikipedia link and see that Photoshop jpg files are incompatible with web browsers, thus upgrading Elements is not a future solution, so I will try to get to grips with Serif's Photo Plus, which I bought on offer some time ago. The Community help is wonderful.

  16. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Glad you got it going!
    There is always GIMP a Gnu program that is powerful but not at all intuitive

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GIMP

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  17. #11
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,726
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    To remove EXIF data you can use EXIFToolGui (uses EXIFTool). You can select a number of files and delete (or amend/insert) EXIF, XMP and ITPC data. I use it and it's simple.

  18. #12
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Bookmarked EXIFToolGui

    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  19. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Get FastStone Image Viewer.

    It is totally free.
    It does a LOT of different image manipulations very easily.
    It handles every file type I can think of including Nikon NEF (Raw).
    Quickly learned - just mouse bump the sides of the screen to see the menues.
    I never had an issue such as you're having - or any other kind.

    Also get Faststone Image Resizer to do bulk resizing, renaming, changing dpi, adding borders, etc.

    You will love them both.

    You're welcome.

  20. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    69
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    PrntScrn will only save the image in the resolution of your monitor.

    That will be 72dpi or 96dpi, or some other very low number.

    Not good enough for printing or anything except screen viewing.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •