Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    MS Insider doesn't like me anymore

    Well, I have been trying for a week now to get logged into my Insider account, but cannot do so. I keep getting the same message that my security settings are wrong. I tried it even with no firewall or AV and got the same message.

    Ah well, it was fun while it lasted.

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    In clear, succinct steps please enumerate what you have tried to resolve the problem so someone's time is not wasted and you don't get asked to repeat a failed attempt.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,794
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Chuck, hello.

    It is still fun as I got back on the wagon. To save my sanity or yours, I just can not see what you ought to do to get back, I did not have to do much, just to go to Upgrade and click on the proper invite. EG:

    Insider.jpg

    All my many computors are back on Insider. I get different versions to show up when doing winver or slmgr, the difference is in the end digital, .3 vs .0, and search me, I do not see any difference in operation. I did not have to do any magical dance here to get this much advertised version, I woke up one morning and there it was.

    You be good. Jean.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Joe, when I fist joined Insider,
    1) I set up a separate login, so that I could eliminate any not needed or conflicting startups or add-ins.
    2) Whenever I wanted to check for any / all updates (general as well as insider), I would log into this profile and execute Settings / Update
    3) From version 99xx it has worked great with no issues. This with all my software -- including BitDefender -- installed.
    4) About a week / ten days ago, I started getting errors that my Security settings needed adjusting, and I would need to restart the computer

    This last "step" seemed harmless. But ever since that first time, it has never resolved. I would restart, and get the very same error again, and again, and...

    So...

    I went to a clean install of the RTM (10240) with no software running at all, logged in through the Insider profile...and got the same error.

    That's all I do and did. I'm not certain what else I can tell you. But, just to be sure I hadn't been "saved" since my last try, I went and logged into that account again, and tried once more, and received

    There’s a problem with getting preview builds...
    Your preview build settings need attention. Go to Advanced options to fix this issue.

    When I go to Advanced Options I get

    Your Security settings need attention to get Insider preview builds...

    and the request o restart in order to fix the settings.

    Chuck
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2015-11-18 at 13:29. Reason: Added Info
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try changing your Microsoft Account password at Windowslive.com.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Jerry, I changed my password yesterday, both for the Insider login and for that profile's user login.

    Chuck

    Edit:

    I have been able to log in without issue, AND get "regular" update. It is solely the preview updates that give me the error.

    Cb
    Last edited by CWBillow; 2015-11-18 at 14:48. Reason: Clarify
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    Have you tried leaving the Insider program under that profile and then re-joining?

    Joe

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Um, no, duh, I'll give that a shot.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Same thing Joe. Strange since it's worked without a hiccough from the start...till now.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    OK, the Fates are playing with me. Today it seems to be working when I run the Updates.

    Sigh...

    Chucck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    And, of course, today it ain't. MS must be doing something to the "process" 'cause I haven't changed a thing.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    If your MBR or UEFI equivalent is on a disk different than your Windows installation you will get that Security Setting problem. The only way it can be fixed is to have the Windows installation on the same drive as the boot partition.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    When Windows 10 installed, it did so to drive "C", with a boot partition. I hadn't and haven't changed that at all, and it has no assigned drive letter that I see....

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •