Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,558
    Thanks
    384
    Thanked 1,480 Times in 1,346 Posts

    Stuff you just happen upon!

    Hey Y'all,

    Some of you probably already know about this, but I didn't.

    In Windows (File) Explorer click in the right pane and then hold your Ctrl key down and scroll your mouse wheel.

    It will run through the view settings. A lot easier than running around clicking menus.

    I've verified this in Win 7 HP, Win 8.1 Pro, and Win 10 Pro Build 10586 or (1511).

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    BHarder (2015-11-24),eikelein (2015-11-27),hcc (2015-11-28),mrjimphelps (2015-11-20),ruirib (2015-11-22)

  3. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,421
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1,025 Times in 953 Posts
    How did you discover that!?

    cheers, Paul

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,558
    Thanks
    384
    Thanked 1,480 Times in 1,346 Posts
    Paul,

    I was trying to see if the Ctrl+Scroll wheel zoom in/out feature that works in browsers and Office apps would work there. These old retired eyes have more trouble every day. Can't get the cataracts fixed till the get bad enough according to Medicare!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,807
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 168 Times in 161 Posts
    But all you have to do is hover the mouse over each setting in the view tab. This is temporary of course. Your solution is a permanent change (well until you change it again). This is File Explorer, don't know about Windows Explorer.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,558
    Thanks
    384
    Thanked 1,480 Times in 1,346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    This is File Explorer, don't know about Windows Explorer.
    Access, that what's it used to be called [remember I'm an old f... ] before they changed to File Explorer, sorry can't remember exactly when but it wasn't too awful long ago.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,807
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 168 Times in 161 Posts
    As you say it was a while ago and I can't remember if it's the same in Windows Explorer. We're both a couple of old f...)

  8. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,528
    Thanks
    465
    Thanked 412 Times in 384 Posts
    In Windows 7, it's called Windows Explorer. I clicked on Help and typed "File Explorer", and it showed me some info about "Windows Explorer".

    I wonder if Microsoft can keep it all straight!

  9. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,558
    Thanks
    384
    Thanked 1,480 Times in 1,346 Posts
    Jim,

    I just tested Win 8.1 and if you type File in the run box it comes up with File Explorer, type Windows Ex and just junk! HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #9
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,807
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 168 Times in 161 Posts
    Hmm, I just did the same on 8.1 and File Explorer came top of the list....

    As you are wont to comment - YMMV!

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,433
    Thanks
    243
    Thanked 151 Times in 140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Paul,

    I was trying to see if the Ctrl+Scroll wheel zoom in/out feature that works in browsers and Office apps would work there. These old retired eyes have more trouble every day. Can't get the cataracts fixed till the get bad enough according to Medicare!
    RG
    I would be interested to know just how bad that might be.
    TIA
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,433
    Thanks
    243
    Thanked 151 Times in 140 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    But all you have to do is hover the mouse over each setting in the view tab. This is temporary of course. Your solution is a permanent change (well until you change it again). This is File Explorer, don't know about Windows Explorer.
    My W7 says Windows Explorer in the shortcut title so Maybe changed in W8, what you are using IIRC. Is that hoover thing a W8 feature? I could not get it to work w/ W7.


    oops guess I was late on that.
    Last edited by wavy; 2015-11-22 at 10:48.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  13. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,546
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,400 Times in 1,222 Posts
    RG, very nice, didn't know about that.

    Windows Explorer became File Explorer in Windows 8.
    Rui
    -------
    R4

  14. #13
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,502
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    The VA took care of my cataracts and didn't even wait for me to go blind first.
    For eye care, the VA is GREAT, but for some other things, not so much.

    A strange thing I found:
    My new motherboard does not support IDE drives, but if I connect an IDE drive via an IDE to SATA adapter, the old 133 (speed) drive will transfer data at SATA I speed. That's 1500 instead of 133 speed. Jus sayin'
    I use that technique for retrieving data from old IDE drives.

    Happy Holidays!
    The Doctor
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to DrWho For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-11-27)

  16. #14
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,957
    Thanks
    275
    Thanked 193 Times in 160 Posts
    A strange thing I found:
    My new motherboard does not support IDE drives, but if I connect an IDE drive via an IDE to SATA adapter, the old 133 (speed) drive will transfer data at SATA I speed. That's 1500 instead of 133 speed. Jus sayin'
    I use that technique for retrieving data from old IDE drives.
    That's been my experience also.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to lumpy95 For This Useful Post:

    DrWho (2015-11-26)

  18. #15
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,421
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1,025 Times in 953 Posts
    Can't see how an interface designed to run at 133 can suddenly run faster. What you may find is it is no longer limited by the mobo interface so it runs at 133.

    cheers, Paul

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •