New Lounger

Undetermined Windows/Media Playing Issues: How to hunt for corrupt system files?

I have been having all kinds of weird issues with my laptop for months now. I have been trying to schedule a re-install, which I have never done before, but part of me just CANNOT give up on trying to find the cause of the issues
    FYI: I am running 64-bit Windows 7 Pro on a Dell M6600 with 8GB of memory, booting off a 126GB SSD with a 750GB hybrid data drive.
    It would seem there are multiple issues, but the major one is that (up until recently) I could no longer play any videos on my system. Any video player would blow out attempting to play any type of video file. I normally use VLC but also tried Windows Media Player and other Video tools that I have (Adobe, Nero, etc). All would blow out with the generic Windows Error "<Program_Name> has stopped working.".

One of the things I did recently is run the "System File Checker" (sfc) with the "\scannow" option. After digging through the log file, I discovered that sfc found (and "fixed") 4 corrupt media .dll files. The lines from the log file are as follows:
    Repairing corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:30{15}]"msmpeg2adec.dll" from store
    Repairing corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:30{15}]"msmpeg2vdec.dll" from store
    Repairing corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:28{14}]"MSMPEG2ENC.DLL" from store
    Repairing corrupted file [ml:520{260},l:46{23}]"\??\C:\Windows\System32"\[l:36{18}]"DShowRdpFilter.dll" from store
    Once this was done Windows Media Player could play some video files, but VLC still would not play any and always blew out. I uninstalled VLC, re-installed it, uninstalled, installed the 32-bit version, un-installed again, ran CCLeaner, re-installed the 64-bit version. It just keeps blowing out on every media file.