Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    jwoods
    Guest

    New version of Belarc Advisor available


  2. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2015-11-23)

  3. #2
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I am going to have to find the older version after installing the new version.
    The new version doesn't work well with copy/paste into word 2013. It crashed word 4 times before I finally gave up. Hopefully I can find the older version.
    Not ready for prime time, like win 10.

  4. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    ...The new version doesn't work well with copy/paste into word 2013. It crashed word 4 times before I finally gave up...
    Did you try copy/paste into Notepad?
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Coochin View Post
    Did you try copy/paste into Notepad?
    No I didn't. With the older belarc I could select all, copy/paste into a landscape word doc. The new belarc version makes word stop responding when pasting in landscape.
    I did get it to paste finally in portrait mode but it's ugly and a lot of pages.

  6. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    It actually saves a copy of the report for you as an .HTML file in the following path...

    C:/Program Files (x86)/Belarc/BelarcAdvisor/System/tmp/

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    You could also save the results as an .HTM file.
    True but I always liked having the word copys to compare and save.

  8. #7
    jwoods
    Guest
    I would try copying content from another HTML page in the same browser and see if you get the same error.

    I have sent issues to Belarc and they have been timely in responding and correcting them.

  9. #8
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    I may try that tomorrow. I have IE11 as default so Belarc displays there and as I said, I didn't have this problem with the previous version.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    True but I always liked having the word copys to compare and save.
    Open the .html file in Word from C:/Program Files (x86)/Belarc/BelarcAdvisor/System/tmp/, change to landscape and save as .doc

  11. #10
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BruceR View Post
    Open the .html file in Word from C:/Program Files (x86)/Belarc/BelarcAdvisor/System/tmp/, change to landscape and save as .doc
    Tried that this morning ( saving it to desktop ) and I got a folder containing this.
    Belarc doc.JPG

    1-ooops, just noticed that I didn't open it in word, I opened the file in it's location and tried to save it as a Doc, my bad and I will try it again.
    2-It still wants to save it as html.

    I am thinking that the easier solution is to just uninstall the newer version and install the older one because it's the same information that is displayed, it's just harder to save in the form that I want it in. Hopefully the older version won't pick up any of the traits of the newer one when doing it this way.
    Last edited by lumpy95; 2015-11-24 at 10:24.

  12. #11
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,735
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 128 Times in 125 Posts
    Lumpy95, I have an older version of Belarc, how do we sneaker-net from my house to your house?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  13. #12
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    @Roland
    Thanks for the offer but I have an older copy of the installer that I saved when I built my girlfriends computer, it just took some digging to find it. LOL

  14. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,753
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 651 Times in 574 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    1-ooops, just noticed that I didn't open it in word, I opened the file in it's location and tried to save it as a Doc, my bad and I will try it again.
    2-It still wants to save it as html.
    Change the filetype to doc before saving (and avoid the extra folder of files).

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    1,844
    Thanks
    258
    Thanked 175 Times in 148 Posts
    @BruceR
    Thanks Bruce but evidently I am not smart enough to get it to save as a Doc. It just wants to save as html on my win 7 machine with this new version of Belarc. Something in the new Belarc version doesn't seem to want to play well with my word 2013.
    Since the information that Belarc finds is the same information as the old Belarc, I wonder if it's worth going through all this when the old Belarc had no problems. Unless something has changed in Office 2013 Pro. with the updates to prevent the copy/paste, then I'll be looking for a different program altogether.

  16. #15
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might contact Gary at Belarc...

    support@belarc.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •