Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brevard, NC, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    how to get Windows 10 for installing in a VM

    I want to install Windows 10 in a virtual machine (VMware workstation). I'm looking for suggestions on how to do this. Can Windows 10 be downloaded from Microsoft? Do I need to buy some sort of retail package?

    Thanks,

    Brian M.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    I would expect you would either need to virtualize an old PC and then upgrade it after ensuring it runs in the VM, or buy a retail copy of W10.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brevard, NC, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the suggestion. I have Windows 8 in several vm's. I will first try to upgrade one of those, and if that doesn't work I'll buy a retail copy.

    For instance, amazon has "Microsoft Windows 10 Home | USB Flash Drive" for $119. I would want to install and activate it in a baseline vm, and then do my work with clones of that vm.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    I don't know how W10 activation works on clones, but it's probably similar to W8. Let us know how it goes.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brevard, NC, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Will do. Right now I'm trying to get a Win8 vm updated to the point it will offer to upgrade itself to Win 10.

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I don't know how W10 activation works on clones, but it's probably similar to W8. Let us know how it goes.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might also consider downloading the ISO using the Media Creation Tool...

    https://www.thurrott.com/windows/win...-the-right-way

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Brevard, NC, USA
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    It took a long time, but by using regular Windows Update, I got a Win8 VM updated to 8.1, and then to Win10. There weren't any hassles over product keys. Win10 seems to be working well enough, except the mouse and keyboard act a little strangely. Sometimes there are two mouse cursors on the screen, and the VM doesn't want to give control of the mouse and keyboard back to the host as readily as other VM's. But at least it's working so I can do what I need to with Win10, which is software testing for compatibility.

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 987 Times in 917 Posts
    Check the VM software for an update.

    cheers, Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •