Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Can't delete Windows.old

    It says it no longer exists, but shows up in C. It contains 4 nested directories. All empty.

    Capture.JPG


    Anyone have a clue?
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2015-11-25 at 12:47. Reason: tpyo
    George

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    That is the folder Windows creates to hold all your information when installing an upgrade. I wouldn't worry about it.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    stuart florida
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Just delete the subfolders by themselves. Or use the disk cleanup utility.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to pomeranced For This Useful Post:

    High Sierra (2015-11-27)

  5. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pomeranced View Post
    Just delete the subfolders by themselves. Or use the disk cleanup utility.
    I've already tried that. Each sub-folder gave the same error.

    Disk clean-up (system files) didn't work either.
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2015-11-26 at 07:43. Reason: added 2nd sentence.
    George

  6. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    stuart florida
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Try booting to safe mode and then deleting.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to pomeranced For This Useful Post:

    High Sierra (2015-11-27)

  8. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Calimanco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    718
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 144 Times in 130 Posts
    Use Unlocker. Your AV may flag it during the install, but its a false positive.

    http://filehippo.com/download_unlocker/

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Calimanco For This Useful Post:

    High Sierra (2015-11-27)

  10. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    Use Unlocker. Your AV may flag it during the install, but its a false positive.

    http://filehippo.com/download_unlocker/
    I may try that, but the error message doesn't indicate the file is owned by another process.
    George

  11. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by High Sierra View Post
    I may try that, but the error message doesn't indicate the file is owned by another process.
    Have faith, and just try it!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to BATcher For This Useful Post:

    High Sierra (2015-11-27)

  13. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Use Disk Cleanup pick Clean Up System Files, that's what I did, do not know why it is not work for you.

  14. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calimanco View Post
    Use Unlocker. Your AV may flag it during the install, but its a false positive.

    http://filehippo.com/download_unlocker/
    Thanks, that worked. Didn't realize that Unlocker had a delete function, as well as rename and move.

    BTW use the custom install or you will get an unwanted tolbar and search engine.
    George

  15. #11
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by High Sierra View Post
    Thanks, that worked. Didn't realize that Unlocker had a delete function, as well as rename and move.
    BTW use the custom install or you will get an unwanted tolbar and search engine.
    Sadly a 'custom install' is almost essential for nearly all software, because sneaky things often get sneaked past you by the "automatic install (recommended)"...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •