Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Start Button problem

    I recently upgraded to Win 10, on my desktop PC. Somehow, while configuring the many "personalizing" options, I adversely impacted the start button. When I right click Start, I seemingly get the expected menu options.

    When I left click Start, the start icon turns blue, but NO menu (or anything) appears. How can I restore the Start Button, left click functionality?

    BTW: I did install the "large" November MSFT program update, no problem(s) noted.

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    What happens when you hit the Win key? Does the Start menu appear?

    I understand you to say, Rt Clk gives you the Power Users menu but, Lft Clk does not give you the Start menu... is this correct?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Indeed a Lft click, on the start button does nothing (less that icon turning blue for a "second"). A Rt click, on the Start button, DOES bring up the expected menu options.

    Per your request, I just learned that my Win key results in NO response.

    Thank you, for your most prompt follow-up !

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    NY state
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    I ran into this a couple of builds ago and had to do a refresh to fix it. Basically a reinstall without any apps transfered.
    Joe

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Joe S For This Useful Post:

    mjcooper (2015-11-28)

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am not a PC expert !

    Might you provide "a few more details", as to how I might accomplish your suggested Refresh. I do not want to lose my current programs (nor data).

    dave

  7. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might try some of these suggested how-to solutions (with screenshots included) to fix your Start button (refresh is included).

    http://home.bt.com/tech-gadgets/comp...11364000314532

    Note that you can copy and paste the commands.
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-11-25 at 15:53.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    mjcooper (2015-11-28)

  9. #7
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,723
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mjcooper View Post
    I am not a PC expert !

    I do not want to lose my current programs (nor data).

    dave
    dave, your comments about not losing data implies to me that you're not backing that data up. Please tell me you are, especially as data could be lost due to any number of reasons....

  10. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    2,522
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 170 Times in 142 Posts
    'mj',

    On the basis that this WAS working properly... would you, please, do a System Restore to a date prior to this current condition or behavior arising. Thanks. This would be the 1st way to try to have things back to normal... before something more involved or severe.

    NB: Sys Restore loses nothing. A Reset, on the other hand has 2 'levels'... one keeps Data but, User installed software must be reloaded, the other keeps nothing.
    Last edited by Drew1903; 2015-11-25 at 18:03.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Drew1903 For This Useful Post:

    mjcooper (2015-11-28)

  12. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Upon encountering that Start button issue, I initiated a System restore command. Alas, after an extended delay, I got a message that Restore had "failed" and no changes were made.

    I do make regular backups of my critical data files. Alas I had not made a System Image, since going to Win 10. I was going to do so once I had it configured as I desired. Further I am now past that STUPID 30 day limit Microsoft imposes (WHY??), when I could revert to Win 7. My PC is ~ 3 years old, and I am not sure I could easily locate my many program install discs or the downloaded install programs. Thus I do not want to do a Reset, as was described.

  13. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try using sfc and dism to repair any corrupted system files.

    http://www.howtogeek.com/222532/how-...dism-commands/

    Jerry

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    mjcooper (2015-11-28)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •