Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Do I have antivirus software?

    Teach a computer class at a local senior center.

    One frequent question is: "How do I know if I have an anti-virus software program on my computer?"

    The only answer I can give is to go to Start>All Programs and look for McAfee or Norton's.

    Is there a better way for them to check?

    Would like to pass on any suggestions to my students.

    Thanks in Advance,
    Richard Spring

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    One way is in Action Center, under Security...

    Action Center.jpg

    Windows 10 calls it Security and Maintenance.

    In the search box, enter security and maintenance and then select Security and Maintenance
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-11-25 at 18:06.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-11-27)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Richard,

    Another way is the FREE Belarc Advisor.

    belarcadv.JPG

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-11-27)

  6. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you both. Will work up a lesson for my classes to pass on the important information.
    Richard Spring

  7. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RSpring View Post
    .... The only answer I can give is to go to Start>All Programs and look for McAfee or Norton's....
    Please be careful in dropping the names of specific products. The last thing anyone wants is more than one AV app running in realtime on the same PC. Most PCs do not have very good outcomes if more than one AV app is running at the same time (there are exceptions but why complicate things for typical end users).

    I know I have found four AV apps running at once with evidence of the remnants of several others on a single machine that had zero antivirus protection because of the conflicts between multiple AV apps running.

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Good point about the multi-AV programs.
    I just want to make sure these students have "a" good AV installed and running.
    Kind of hard to know what, if any, they have installed by just talking to them in class.

    Want to give them the tools to check for their selves to be safe.

    Thanks for the input.
    Richard Spring

  9. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Hampshire (the old one)
    Posts
    525
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 72 Times in 62 Posts
    The easiest way is post #2. Don't forget that if any of your students have Windows XP (it's not impossible, and in fact quite likely), it's called Security Center and they'll find it in Control Panel.

  10. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tonyl View Post
    The easiest way is post #2. ...
    Maybe, but any of the Windows OS are notorious for not reporting (detecting) an legitimate and working 3rd party AV app. AVG doesn't show up on any of my XP or Win7 systems.

  11. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RSpring View Post
    .... I just want to make sure these students have "a" good AV installed and running....
    While too complicated for most elderly people it may prove of benefit to you:

    http://www.oyyas.com/types-of-computer-viruses.php

    Test your AV app and PC on how well it protects here
    http://www.amtso.org/feature-setting...top-solutions/

    Antivirus app testing labs (see which one is best for you):
    https://www.icsalabs.com/
    http://www.virusbtn.com/index
    http://www.westcoastlabs.com/checkma...techGroupID=27
    http://www.av-test.org/
    http://www.av-comparatives.org/

    http://www.virustotal.com/ Virustotal is a service that analyzes suspicious files and URLs and facilitates the quick detection of viruses, worms, trojans, and all kinds of malware detected by antivirus engines. Submit a file or URL.
    http://www.threatexpert.com/submit.aspx Submit a file and receive a report in email.

  12. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
    Posts
    342
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Had my first class on the above subject today. Main content was on post #2 response. The senior center computer showed Norton's installed, but Turned OFF. This as a medical facility with their own IT department, so I did not change anything. Will discuss with facility director to see what action, if any, they will take. They probably has a robust firewall and I believe the PC USB ports have been disabled.

    Anyway, the student are all going to check their own computers at home. Job Done.
    Richard Spring

  13. #11
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    Maybe, but any of the Windows OS are notorious for not reporting (detecting) an legitimate and working 3rd party AV app. AVG doesn't show up on any of my XP or Win7 systems.
    Rebuilding the WMI Repository will sometimes fix that issue...


    1. Open an elevated Command prompt.

    2. Enter the following commands...

    cd \windows\system32\wbem
    net stop winmgmt
    rename Repository Repository.old
    net start winmgmt

    3. At this point there will be no repository at all. In order to create one, you’ll have to run a WMI-using application. The simplest way to do this is to go back to Computer Management and open Services & Applications -> WMI Control, then right-click and choose Properties. There will be a delay of some seconds while a new repository is created.

    4. Reboot.

    Solution courtesy of Katy Coe at katyscode.wordpress.com

  14. #12
    New Lounger Zahid iqbal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just open Add/Remove Programms or intalll or uninstall programs from control panel. It will tell everything installed on your system

  15. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    131
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
    Well you could also show them where it would show on the taskbar near the clock. Make sure to include the hidden taskbar item's arrow.

  16. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    One way is in Action Center, under Security...

    Windows 10 calls it Security and Maintenance.

    In the search box, enter security and maintenance and then select Security and Maintenance
    One odd thing I've noticed with Win 10, well, two but only one relates here, is that occasionally the "notifications" will pop out and tell me that I have NO antivirus protection, so I go look at Security and Maintenance and find my AV is running, it shows active on the task bar as well. Just some silly glitch I guess. The other thing I find amusing is, that my printer goes into hibernation, where it spends most of its time actually, but when I print anything from a web page, while it is waking, the "notifications" pops out and tells me printer is not able to print. Which is completely untrue, it fires up and prints everything just fine, it is Win 10 that is impatient. :^)

  17. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rockledge, FL
    Posts
    330
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Interesting, I do a similar thing in several places (a Computer Basics class, so goes into bits/bytes, how computers work etc...not just for Windows, per se). I have quite a few powerpoint slidesets to do these courses. It's really hard to know what anyone wants out of these classes, isn't it?

    K

    Quote Originally Posted by RSpring View Post
    Teach a computer class at a local senior center.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •