Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    F12 Developer and other problem with IE 11

    Susan Bradley's article on Nov. 25 regarding end of the road for IE versions spurred to me action. I have Windows 7 PRO SP1 (64 bit). I had IE 10 installed, which worked great. So I downloaded 'IE11-Windows6.1-x64-en-us.exe' and installed IE 11.

    I found a problem with a website I created, so I went to F12 Developer. It would not open, and gave me an error. I searched for that error code, which led me to 'IE11-Windows6.1-KB3008923-x64.msu', which I installed. That fixed the F12 problem, but not my website. Checking KB3008923 in Windows Secrets, eventually led me to the latest cumulative update, 'IE11-Windows6.1-KB3100773-x64.msu', which I also installed. Still no solution to my website problem.

    But I have three questions:
    1. Since I have installed the latest cumulative update, are their other updates that I need to install, or does the cumulative get all preceding updates--i.e., could I have skipped 'IE11-Windows6.1-KB3008923-x64.msu'? And if there are some updates I am missing could you list them? And do they have to be installed in any specific order?

    2. The F12 Developer seems to have been significantly changed since IE 10. In IE 10 there was a Browser Mode and a Document mode. Each could be changed independent of the other. In IE 11 there is an Emulation tab, which contains a Document Mode, but no Browser Mode. There is a User agent string. Is that the same a Browser Mode?

    3. The default for Document mode and User Agent string are Edge. There is no IE 11 listed. I thought Edge was a newer browser than IE 11. Can someone shed light on this?

    Thanks for your understanding.


    Harry

  2. #2
    jwoods
    Guest
    1. I would run Windows Update until all of the IE 11 updates have been installed. Currently, Susan does not have a Wait or Hold on any IE updates.

    2. AFAIK, Document Mode is the new Browser Mode. Browser Mode was removed, and then re-implemented in Windows 8.1.

    3. Edge is newer than IE 11. The dropbox will also allow you to select IE 10.
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-01 at 01:42.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    What specifically is the website problem?

    Joe

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    joeP517:

    Good question.

    I have learned a lot more since I posted, but still not exactly sure. I do a website for a local park, and created some custom markers using Google based code someone created. Never had a problem until IE 11, which I just installed. I have IE 10, IE 9 and IE 8 installed on other computers. No problem with them. Also no problem with Chrome, Firefox, Pale Moon or Opera 12.

    So before I go into what appears to be a fix (and requires lots of changes to my website code), I want to make sure that my copy of IE 11 is not the problem. As I said earlier, all my Internet option settings are identical between my IE 10 & IE 11.

    So would you open this in IE 11:
    http://data.mapchannels.com/mc5/2286...phitheater.htm
    and click on the Index header tab. If everything is correct, you should see screenshot #1 on the attachment, where all the markers are displayed.

    If the problem exists, you will see screenshot #2, where none of the markers are displayed. If this is the case, then open this in IE 11:
    http://www.googlemapsmarkers.com/v1/...FFFFFF/FF0000/

    If the problem does not exist, you will see the marker. If it does exist, you will see the error message as shown in screenshot #3.

    So let me know what you find, and then I will know if the problem is generic to IE 11, or to only my copy. Depending on your answer will determine how I respond.


    Harry
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    @ hmw (Harry)

    I have looked at the first link in your #4 post and see the markers as in your #1 screenshot you say are expected.

    Also looked at the second link in your #4 post which showed a small #9 marker (no error message).

    IE11 on Win7 Pro x64 SP1.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  6. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by hmw View Post
    joeP517:

    So would you open this in IE 11:
    http://data.mapchannels.com/mc5/2286...phitheater.htm
    and click on the Index header tab. If everything is correct, you should see screenshot #1 on the attachment, where all the markers are displayed.

    Harry
    Opened the link using fully patched IE 11 on Win7 Pro 64-bit, and it displayed the markers.

    You do have two errors with SCRIPT5 failing with Access Denied...

    You can see those by opening the Console in Developer tools.

    It is trying to do a re-direct (301 or 302) to https://googleads.g.doubleclick.net

    Since there is no matching SSL certificate for that domain, it is producing the error shown in your example 3.

    One way to solve it is to use a Subject Alternate Name (SAN) SSL certificate.

    https://www.digicert.com/unified-com...ns-ssl-tls.htm
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-02 at 01:01.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    171
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Coochin & jwoods:

    Thanks for running the tests so promptly, and giving feedback.

    Thus it appears the problem is not generic to IE 11, but something wrong with my copy. Because of the way I installed it, I have no idea if I have all the patches installed or not, or at this point, where to start troubleshooting.

    Any suggestions?

    Harry

  8. #8
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by hmw View Post
    Coochin & jwoods:

    Any suggestions?

    Harry
    See the additional info added in post #6

    If you don't already use it, you might consider downloading and running the free Fiddler web debugging tool from Telerik.

    http://www.telerik.com/fiddler
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-02 at 00:52.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hmw View Post
    ...Thus it appears the problem is not generic to IE 11, but something wrong with my copy. Because of the way I installed it, I have no idea if I have all the patches installed or not...
    Check your settings in Windows Update:
    WU_Settings.jpg
    The settings in the above screenshot work well for me, but each month after WU patches are release I wait three-to-four days before allowing any to install (gives M$ time to "pull" any bad updates). Also, it is necessary to click on the link for optional updates and install any you think might be of advantage.

    Re troubleshooting IE11: first thing I usually try is running IE with add-ons disabled ( in a command prompt run start iexplore -extoff ) and see if the problem remains. If the problem doesn't happen with add-ons disabled then you should reset IE to its default settings:
    Reset_IE.jpg
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  10. #10
    jwoods
    Guest
    Based on the OP's info in post #4

    Quote Originally Posted by hmw View Post
    I do a website for a local park, and created some custom markers using Google based code someone created. Never had a problem until IE 11, which I just installed.
    I think it's a server-side problem rather than a client-side problem.

    Whatever his development environment is, he would need to upload the pages to the website to test it.

    If there is no matching cert for the https re-direct domain, it will fail with the error page he's getting.
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-02 at 03:01.

  11. #11
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    ...I think it's a server-side problem rather than a client-side problem...
    If it was a server-side problem rather than client-side then why was I able to access the links w/o errors? (and I gather from your #6 post you did also).
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  12. #12
    jwoods
    Guest
    It might be trying to use SSL 2.0 or SSL 3.0.

    I have both turned off.

    He should be able to see it if he runs it in Fiddler.

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    It might be trying to use SSL 2.0 or SSL 3.0...
    AFAIK at least since early 2015 each WU "Cumulative update for Internet Explorer..." have turned off SSL2.0 & SSL3.0. But yes, that is possible, as about late 2014 I attended quite a few customers who were unable to access websites because of the SSL issue.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  14. #14
    jwoods
    Guest
    I've also seen incorrect date and time settings cause the error.

    That's why Fiddler is such a good debugging tool...it takes the trial and error out of the equation.

    http://www.telerik.com/fiddler/web-debugging

  15. #15
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,153
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 306 Times in 266 Posts
    @ hmw (Harry)

    You could also check out the certificates you have stored on the affected computer.

    In a command prompt run certmgr.msc which will open a dialog listing all security certificates you have stored on that computer.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •