Thanks

Windows update deletes Menu tab for Ubitmenu

Hi All,

I've been using Ubitmenu free for Office 2010 menus, and Ubitmenu For Outlook. I know, I know...get used to the ribbon because it isn't going away, but I'm a retired technical writer that has been using the Office 2003 menu system for as I can remember. I just can't get used to, or easily navigate the Ribbon.

Anyway, within the last month, MS offered several Office 2010 updates. There were several of them, so I wasn't able to decide which one caused the Ubitmenu deletion problem.

Not only did the 'Menu' tab disappear, but apparently one of these 'Updates' uninstalled Ubitmenu for Outlook. I tried to reinstall the Ubit Outlook but was not successful. The only way I could restore the Menu tab was to use System Restore to go back to immediately before downloading the updates. (Creating a restore point and labeling it "Prior to installing MS updates" has saved my bacon more than once over the years).

Has anyone else run into the problem of recent updates deleting Ubitmenu? After restoring my system to just before installing the updates, I haven't installed any of the subsequent Office 2010 updates. I realize this is not a good method for the long haul, but I need some help on correcting the 'updates deleting Ubitmenu' before I try the updates again.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Owl

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you get an error message on the install?
    Was an installation log available?
    Have you checked the Ubitmenu site for an update?
    Is the Ubitmenu an add-in that was just disabled rather than uninstalled?

Joe

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Did you get an error message on the install?
    Was an installation log available?
    Have you checked the Ubitmenu site for an update?
    Is the Ubitmenu an add-in that was just disabled rather than uninstalled?

Joe
    Joe,