Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochester, MN USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Windows 10 upgrade , very slow

    After the Windows 10 upgrade, everything is very slow. I tried running SFC /scannow and it won't run. Any suggestions.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    We need more info please.
    How much CPU / disk is being used? Run Task Manager to see those values.
    Do you have an anti virus program running, which one?
    What is your machine spec, CPU, disk etc?
    Do you get any error messages when you run SFC?
    Do you have an image backup from before the upgrade?
    How long ago did you upgrade?

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    oldgeezer75 (2015-12-05)

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Happened to me too. A reboot fixed it. It was not intentional but it worked. Various other sources suggest this course of action as well.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to WayneJDTuttle For This Useful Post:

    oldgeezer75 (2015-12-05)

  6. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochester, MN USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Right now, CPU 45%,
    Utilization 55%
    Speed 2.37 Ghz
    Toshiba laptopt, Windows 10 with last upgrade, 8 GB ram
    SFC won't run
    Yes I have data backups from before, no full disc backup. I have IDrive that is supposed to be doing that but isn't. I will ask about that in a separate post.
    Upgraded to Windows 10 in September from 8.1 because I had it in the shop for other issues. It has worked well until this upgrade.
    I have rebooted numerous time in the last week, I shut down every night.

  7. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might try the following...

    1. Run CHKDSK

    2. In Safe Mode, run SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated Command Prompt. Here's how to get into Safe Mode in Windows 10...

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/29847...safe-mode.html

    3. Download and run the Windows Repair tool at Tweaking.com.

    http://www.tweaking.com/content/page...ll_in_one.html

    Note: It is not the big green button at the top.

    You will see Download buttons for Direct Download and Mirror @ MajorGeeks.com

    4. Do a repair with an in-place upgrade of build 1511.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1...e-upgrade.html

    5. Do a clean install.
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-05 at 20:50.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    oldgeezer75 (2015-12-07)

  9. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    What process is using the CPU? Task Manager will tell you.

    cheers, Paul

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    oldgeezer75 (2015-12-07)

  11. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochester, MN USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    You might try the following...

    1. Run CHKDSK

    2. In Safe Mode, run SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated Command Prompt. Here's how to get into Safe Mode in Windows 10...

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/29847...safe-mode.html

    3. Download and run the Windows Repair tool at Tweaking.com.

    http://www.tweaking.com/content/page...ll_in_one.html

    Note: It is not the big green button at the top.

    You will see Download buttons for Direct Download and Mirror @ MajorGeeks.com

    4. Do a repair with an in-place upgrade of build 1511.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1...e-upgrade.html

    5. Do a clean install.
    Thanks for this JW. I will try this in the morning, have too much working tonight to try this.

  12. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochester, MN USA
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Paul, Firefox is the only thing that is drawing more than 5%. I am not clear on how to interpret the varying uses percentage or the Mbs at any given moment. The CPU is about 39% and Memory is about 54%.

  13. #9
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by oldgeezer75 View Post
    Paul, Firefox is the only thing that is drawing more than 5%.
    That could be due to add-ons.

    You might try restarting Firefox with add-ons disabled, monitor the usage, and enable add-ons one at a time.

    I would do that last.

    Memory and CPU usage changes constantly...numbers that are consistently high for long periods of time could be indicators of problems.

    Regarding the steps in post #5, same thing...one step at a time, check the results, move to the next step.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    oldgeezer75 (2015-12-10)

  15. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,162
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Lots of processes consuming a small amount of CPU is normal, although the use should drop below 10% most of the time.
    If you sort the Task Manager by CPU time, click on the heading, you will see if there are any heavy users.

    cheers, Paul

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    oldgeezer75 (2015-12-10)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •