Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 10 perfect at first, now slow

    I upgraded to W10 as soon as it was made available to me, and was delighted to find that i experienced none of the problems that many users were talking about. It was literally perfect for several months.
    Three weeks ago, I started to hear my fan running more frequently, and now all the time. Everything is slower, particularly Firefox. Shut down takes several minutes.
    I wish I could identify some change in software or computer setup that coincides, but the only possibility is the addition of Adobe Premiere Elements 13 and Adobe Photoshop Elements 13 at around the time the slowdown started. However, these programs are not in the startup menu and are used less than once a week.

    I hope someone can suggest a solution or diagnostic process based on the following info:

    Things I have tried:
    * remove from the startup menu all processes that are flagged as "heavy" users.

    My software and frequently used services:
    I have my Windows set up to run in old-fashioned desktop, not the touch-screen option.
    * Dropbox Premium
    * Office 365
    * Firefox
    * Evernote Premium

    I do NOT use Cortana or anything similar. Keyboard and mouse only.

    Protection I run:
    * Defender
    * Malwarebytes Ani-Malware
    *Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit


    Computer & system:
    Lenovo laptop 64-bit x 64-based processor
    i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.4GHz
    installed RAM: 8.0 Gb
    Windows Edition: Windows 10 Home

    Thanks
    Patrick

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Install Ccleaner (available from filehippo,) and clean cache, registry, and examine all startup items, and programs.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to djohnson For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-07)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks,djohnson. I should have mentioned that I did use CCleaner and followed the default cleaning process, including the registry. Made no discernible difference.

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Below is the CCleaner report on my Startup:
    CC Startup.JPG

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Below is the CCleaner report on my Firefox:

    CC Firefox.JPG

  7. #6
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    You mentioned fan speed; excess heat will slow everything down in an effort to produce less heat. When was the last time you cleaned the laptop?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to bbearren For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-08)

  9. #7
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickjl View Post
    Below is the CCleaner report on my Startup:
    CC Startup.JPG
    You can get rid of everything except for ccleaner, and malwarebytes. All the other stuff is useless.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to djohnson For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-08)

  11. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    What does Task Manager say about CPU and memory use? Right click on the Task Bar, bottom of screen, and select Task Manager > Processes.

    cheers, Paul

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-08)

  13. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Really??
    Dashlane is my online password manager, I use that all the time. Drobox is syncing every 15 minutes, I need that. And the Evernote clipper I use everyday to grab stuff off web pages. So I think I need to keep those.
    But the rest can go? I know nothing so I'm going to trust you on this, but isn't akamai, for example, some key part of fetching stuff off the web?
    Thanks very much for looking at this for me.

  14. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Paul. I have tried to do screen grabs of the task manager. Obviously it's hard to grab at the moment of heavy processing, and the list is much longer than my screen, so stuff is missing.

    Task manager.JPG

  15. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

  16. #12
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,721
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Patrick, in Task Manager, if you move your mouse over any of the headings (e.g. Disk) and click it will sort by that column. You will then see the highest users of the (in the example) disk. Then all the relevant items will be on one page. Looks like you need to do it for disk and cpu.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-08)

  18. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you, I will try to screen-capture this, during an operation which winds up the processor.

  19. #14
    jwoods
    Guest
    I find Sysinternals Process Explorer a little easier to use...

    https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rocessexplorer

    Right click on a process, and click on the Threads tab to see detailed CPU usage...click on the Disk and Network tab to see that activity.

    Process Explorer will also show the VirusTotal score for each process, which helps identify potential malware that might be running.

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-08)

  21. #15
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickjl View Post
    I have tried to do screen grabs of the task manager
    Use the Windows Snipping Tool and take a window snip, save as PNG and post.

    cheers, Paul

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    patrickjl (2015-12-09)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •