New Lounger
    Thanks

What happened to administrator privileges?

I recently upgraded to Win10 after encountering error code 80030001 (if I remember the error correctly) which was said to be an error saying I didn't have authority to do that kind of change.

I am THE ONLY person who uses this PC and I wound up re-installing Win7 then installed Win 10 when the multitude of suggested fixes didn't change a thing.

Everything seemed okay as emails that never used to show pictures (surveys, etc.) started showing pictures again.

I was able to run Citrix software w/o the annoying "save" windows popping up with the "save and run" option grayed out.

About the only software of any relevance I installed was Kaspersky.

It seems I am back to where I was in Win7 with Win10.

The user window says I am an administrator, but that seems to be in name only.

I have 2 questions:

1) What could have caused the change ??
    2) How can I tell if I have TRUE administrator privileges ??

Thanks

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    This was a design change which started with Vista and has continued on from there. Your account may be a member of the administrator group but you still do not have the unfettered access and privileges that you did in the XP days. Only the builtin Administrator account, which is disabled by default, has full system access. That is why you see the UAC prompts when you do something that may change system files. Under normal usage users don't need unfettered access to the system (which you are calling true administrator privileges).

Joe

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    You do have true admin privileges via UAC, which allows you to install software, change system settings etc.
    What is it you think you are missing?

cheers, Paul

Thanks