Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Replaced 2 TB drive with 4T B drive and it shows only 137.4 GB in BIOS.

    I just replaced a 2 TB internal drive (Seagate ST2000DL003) with a 4 TB internal drive (Seagate STBD4000400) and the new drive shows as 137.4 GB in the BIOS. The 2 TB drive was functioning properly, I just needed more storage.

    I also have a 4 TB USB external drive that is functioning properly.

    OS is WIN7 Ultimate 64 bit with all updates. Processor is i7. RAM 12.0 GB.

    When I enter setup, I get the following message:

    "SATA Port5 ST4000DM000 CC54
    S.M.A.R.T. Capable and Status BAD"

    BIOS American Megatrends
    BIOS Info: A13 (07/28/2009)
    System Studio XPS 435T/9000

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Steve
    Last edited by Steve1951; 2015-12-08 at 14:49.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Try This Video

    --https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJjS2DdlRS0--

    re2s

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for the reply but that doesn't solve my problem as the disk is already not allocated.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I just updated the BIOS to the latest (A16) and observed the same results.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Steve1951 For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2015-12-08)

  6. #5
    jwoods
    Guest
    In Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management open Disk Management.

    Take a screenshot and post it in the thread,

  7. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    screen_shot.pngboot_up.jpg

    Attached are attachments for Disk Management and for the error on the boot-up screen.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Steve,

    Download Partition Wizard Mini-Tool Free Edition Boot CD.

    Then burn to CD and boot from it and partition your drive into 2 2Tb drives. If you don't have a CD/DVD player use RUFUS to burn the ISO to a USB Key.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't think the BIOS is seeing the whole drive, there may be a setting in the BIOS to enable support for large HDD.
    Since it is a DELL computer I don't know how deep it will let you go in the BIOS.
    Beware changing the setting in the BIOS may render the Computer unbootable.

    Could not get any real info from Dell about the motherboard and if it supports large HDDs.

    re2s

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Did you GPT format it? On Disk Management right click on Disk3 and select format. It should offer an MBR and a GPT option.

    If that doesn't work, maybe dividing it into two 2TB partitions will work, but if it doesn't then I would suspect the drive, cables or port is defective.
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2015-12-08 at 22:54.

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    According to Looking for a list of hard drives compatible with my XPS Studio 435/9000 your machine does not support a drive larger than 2TB. So, RG's post #7 contains what you should do.

    Joe

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    According to Looking for a list of hard drives compatible with my XPS Studio 435/9000 your machine does not support a drive larger than 2TB. So, RG's post #7 contains what you should do.

    Joe
    Not true. It doesn't support a boot drive >2TB.

  13. #12
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,650
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Hmmm, SMART status of Bad tells me the drive is buggered!

  14. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,170
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 980 Times in 910 Posts
    To check the drive run CrystalDiskInfo or Hard Disk Sentinel.

    cheers, Paul

  15. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a motherboard from 2007 that the BIOS does not support a drive larger than 2 TB.

    I bought a 3TB drive before finding this out.

    My solution was to buy an external case for the drive.

    Was able to use the full capacity via USB.

    Trouble shooting Tips.

    Your motherboard may not support a large drive. (Check with the manufacturer)

    If a large drive is supported:

    The BIOS May need settings changed to support large HDD. (If I remember correctly until the BIOS sees the full size of the disk it will report wrong information to windows.)

    Plug the drive into a different controller and/or SATA port. (Some SATA controllers have problems with large HDD.)

    Move the HDD to another computer to rule out malfunctioning drive. ( preferably a newer computer known to support 4TB or larger Drives)

    I am thinking that the drive may have problems, I would try the drive in another computer.

    re2s
    Last edited by re2s; 2015-12-09 at 08:29.

  16. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    Not true. It doesn't support a boot drive >2TB.
    Correct in that you can't have a boot drive larger than 2TB. If you have a data drive larger than 2TB you must partition the drive such that no partition is larger than 2TB.

    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •