Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks

Updates today on W 7 and now there is a message showing.......

After the updates today, 17 of them, my computer (W 7 Enterprise) has a little notice at the bottom right corner of the screen "Windows 7, Build 7601, This copy of Windows is not genuine", which is false. I know the Enterprise systems are not eligible for the automatic update to W 10. My hunch is that MS tried to force a download of W 10 and because this is Enterprise, has now put that notice on my computer. Any ideas from you experts? I'm a self taught intermediate user, no techie here!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you tried activating it?

Joe

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I don't think there's anything to activate, because MS wouldn't have put W 10 on my computer. Is that what you mean, activate W 10? Thanks for the thought.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    No. Activate Win7 Enterprise. You don't have Win10. You have a problem with what Microsoft sees in the Win7 activation information.

Joe

Super Moderator
    Thanks
    Go Start - type activate windows - press enter and see what it reports.

Should you need them, these commands run from an elevated command prompt will recreate the licensing store -

net stop sppsvc
    (wait until the service has stopped before entering the following lines)

CD %windir%\ServiceProfiles\NetworkService\AppData\Ro aming\Microsoft\SoftwareProtectionPlatform

REN tokens.dat tokens.bar

net start sppsvc

slui.exe

After a couple of seconds the Windows Activation dialog will appear.

You may be asked to re-activate and/or re-enter your product key, or Activation may occur automatically.

If you are asked for your Key, use the one on the COA sticker on the machine's case, or your current product key if you have upgraded.

Enter shutdown /r /t 00 to effect an immediate reboot and then redo "activate windows" to see what it reports.