New Lounger
    Thanks

Should I Install Monitor Drivers or Use Windows Pre-installed Drivers on New System?

On Black Friday I succumbed to buying a new Lenovo Win10 desktop with Intel corei3 processor at a ridiculously low price and Samsung led 22" monitor as well. They replace a reliable 9 year old WinXP eMachines which is no longer supported. I'm new to Win10 and just starting to get some feel for it.

I plugged the monitor into the PC with a HDMI cable and fired it up. Since I hadn't installed the monitor's drivers, I didn't expect to see a bright well defined screen but was pleasantly surprised. The resolution was set at 1920x1080. I had trouble reading email so I lowered the resolution to 1600x900.

Should I install the monitor's drivers off the cd or keep using what I assume are pre-installed ones on Win10?

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Check the Samsung site for Windows 10 drivers. The ones included with Windows 10 are very basic. That may be sufficient for a monitor but if there are any special features in the device they will most likely only be enabled by an OEM driver.

BTW, LCD/LED monitors work best when used at the default resolution. Instead of lowering the resolution trying increasing the text size. Right click on a blank spot on the desktop, select "Display Settings", use the slider to change the text size.

Joe

jwoods
    Quote Originally Posted by Jellyby View Post
    On Black Friday I succumbed to buying a new Lenovo Win10 desktop with Intel corei3 processor at a ridiculously low price and Samsung led 22" monitor as well. They replace a reliable 9 year old WinXP eMachines which is no longer supported. I'm new to Win10 and just starting to get some feel for it.