Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    My icons at boot up disappeared after upgrade to Win 10 and back to Win 7

    I went sure where to out this in Win 10 or 7

    i have Windows 7 and upgraded to a windows 10 only to find out the network adapter in my new desktop would not accept the Windows 10 drivers (I built my desktop) after a few hours with MS on the phone and inside my desktop they told me to go Back to windows 7 until a driver is available. Well, let the fun begin

    i could not convert back to Windows 7 without doing a full clean install which MS did while inside my desktop (BIG MISTAKE) you would think I've learned by now not to allow MS to do anything in my computers Thank goodness I had backup files

    Since then hen when I boot up I have my desktop but no icons so I have to hit the kill switch until my icons appear which normally do on the next boot up. If my computer goes to sleep or I haveinactivity for say 15 minutes it locks up and I can't do anything except hit the kill switch and reboot The way around this from happening is I've told my computer to never fall asleep. Once in a while it will still lock up if inactivity for a few hours.

    has anyone had this issue or know what I can check to fix this?

    thank you!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Did you proceed after the clean install or did you restore your backup?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No back up at all. Could not get to it

  4. #4
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might try using this batch file that Shawn Brink of SevenForums created to rebuild the icon cache...

    :: Created by: Shawn Brink
    :: http://www.sevenforums.com
    :: Tutorial: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...e-rebuild.html

    @echo off
    set iconcache=%localappdata%\IconCache.db

    echo The Explorer process must be killed to delete the Icon DB.
    echo.
    echo Please SAVE ALL OPEN WORK before continuing.
    echo.
    pause
    echo.
    If exist "%iconcache%" goto delID
    echo.
    echo Icon DB has already been deleted.
    echo.
    pause
    exit /B

    :delID
    echo Attempting to delete Icon DB...
    echo.
    ie4uinit.exe -ClearIconCache
    taskkill /IM explorer.exe /F
    del "%iconcache%" /A
    echo.
    echo Icon DB has been successfully deleted. Please "restart your PC" now to rebuild your icon cache.
    echo.
    start explorer.exe
    pause
    exit /B

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jwoods For This Useful Post:

    Larbec (2015-12-15)

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks jwoods

    I tried this and we will see what happens

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I am about to wear you out , perhaps some cr on my desktop and laptip and start all over again

    I told my computer to go to sleep after 30 minutes and when it woke up I only had my desktop picture, no icons. I can right click and get a menu but no matter what I click on its invisible. hmmm could I have a display feature out, meaning not set up correctly?

  8. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Check that you're using the native resolution for the monitor and that you have Desktop font scaling set to 100% (the higher you go, the more problems you are likely to bump into).

  9. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satrow View Post
    Check that you're using the native resolution for the monitor and that you have Desktop font scaling set to 100% (the higher you go, the more problems you are likely to bump into).

    Font is set to smaller at 100% and resolution 1920 x 1080

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    A long shot but try right click on the desktop, select view and verify the "Show Desktop Icons" is checked.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •