New Lounger
    Thanks

Publishing Using FTP

I am brand new to FrontPage 2000 and am having trouble publishing to my ISP's server. My ISP has my user name and password all setup but I haven't been able to get it to work. This is for a personal web page to be stored on my ISP's server with an address of www.yvn.com/users/jmk. No one at my ISP uses FrontPage.

According to Special Edition Using MS Office 2000, I need to set up an FTP Location shortcut. I have tried following the directions given but I can't find the FTP Locations folder it refers to or another way to bring up the Add/Modify FTP Locations dialog box. Therefore, this doesn't seem to work the way it's supposed to. I have found the FrontPage Help to be useless in this area.

When I just try to type in an FTP address in the box asking for the location to publish my web to, it asks for user name and password. When I hit enter after supplying them, the box just comes back up with the password box empty again.

My ISP suggested just downloading another program but I want to use FrontPage for everything. According to what I have read, this should be possible. Any insight into this problem would be appreciated.

Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Publishing Using FTP

I take it that what you are saying is that you are trying to use the FTP function withing FP. I've never been able to make that work and so I use either WS/ftp or FTP Explorer (free) to upload all of my files to the server. I expect this is what your ISP is telling you.

New Lounger
    Thanks

Yes, that is correct. I guess I'll give up on using FrontPage for FTP. I suppose it's another frustrating Microsoft quirk to have an FTP feature that doesn't work. Thanks for the insight.

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks