Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: New Problem

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    New Problem

    Started getting this today.

    Did some searches and tried some of the suggestions I found which partially restored the start button functionality except the Modern apps pane was blank.

    Just got home and booted up and the problem is back. see attached picture.

    Capture.JPG


    Also I was getting an error when trying to play solitaire earlier. Something to do with XBOX connection. I don't have an XBOX. Not sure if this is related.
    George

  2. #2
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Try to boot into safe mode and run sfc /scannow.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    been there done that.

    No problems found.
    George

  4. #4
    jwoods
    Guest
    You might try running System Restore and selecting a point before the issue occurred.

    If that doesn't work, try some of the steps in this article...

    http://home.bt.com/tech-gadgets/comp...11364000314532

    If none of these work, you might consider doing a repair with an in-place upgrade.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1...e-upgrade.html
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-19 at 16:33. Reason: Additional link added

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    You might try running System Restore and selecting a point before the issue occurred.

    If that doesn't work, try some of the steps in this article...

    http://home.bt.com/tech-gadgets/comp...11364000314532

    If none of these work, you might consider doing a repair with an in-place upgrade.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/1...e-upgrade.html
    I recovered from a restore point to the 17th. Everything is fine now. however isn't the update that fubared my system just going to reinstall and do it again.
    Last edited by ruirib; 2015-12-19 at 20:15. Reason: text edited for language
    George

  6. #6
    jwoods
    Guest
    If you are using Windows 10 Pro and above, you can defer updates up to 30 days.

    I would expect if this was update-related, we'll start seeing more reports.

    Keep an eye on Woody on Windows at Infoworld.com

    http://www.infoworld.com/blog/woody-on-windows

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Anyone know what update number was issued between Dec 17 and 19.
    George

  8. #8
    jwoods
    Guest
    Go to Windows Update > Advanced options and select View your update history.

    Preston Gralla has a good article on managing Windows Updates you might find helpful...

    http://www.computerworld.com/article...0-updates.html
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-19 at 18:57. Reason: Added link

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger djohnson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware City, Delaware
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 32 Times in 30 Posts
    Here is what I have done to resolve issues. If you have boot media, run setup from windows, and upgrade (it really isn't an upgrade since you will be installing over top.) If you can open windows explorer with this error. If you can't I suggest not to waste any more time, and just wipe drive, and reinstall windows, or if you have enough room on HDD, or SDD just install windows. All your files, etc will be in windows.old folder. Reinstalling Windows takes minimal amount of time.

  10. #10
    jwoods
    Guest
    The second link in post #4 on in-place upgrades gives detailed steps on how to do it.

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    The update that I backed out via restore was KB 3124200.

    I also followed those detailed recovery steps:

    Please follow the below steps and check if it helps in resolving the issue.
    Open the Task manager. Here’s a tip: Press CTRL+Shift+ESC.
    Click File > Run New Task.
    Make sure you have a check mark beside “Create this task with administrative privileges”.
    Type CMD.
    Type the following 4 commands at the CMD prompt:
    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth
    sfc /scannow
    powershell
    Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

    Close the CMD window.
    In http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...f-aef0bc9ab0ea

    All the commands completed successfully.

    It partially worked once(restored start button but not modern apps), but when the problem came back it wouldn't work again.

    I've had several other issues with 10 and most were permissions related. Not sure about this one but I have given myself modify permissions on all of C drive. I will let the update install again to see what happens.
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2015-12-20 at 07:24.
    George

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    BTW that update reinstalled again on the 19th, as soon as I rebooted after doing the recovery. I haven't had the problem since.
    George

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •