Thanks

How to save Office 2013 settings and import into new installation?

I have Office Pro 2013 32-bit on one machine. Is there an easy way to export all of the suite's settings, e.g. each program's options, and then import them into a new 2013 SP-1 64-bit installation on a different machine? I noticed that a program named Office Backup Wizard may be able to do this. Thanks.
    JimmyW
    Helena, MT

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    I have no knowledge of the Office Backup Wizard but it will be difficult to backup 32-bit settings and restore them to a 64-bit install. Note that the OBW site says is does not work with Office 365. Your Outlook profile and data are not backed up. Also, there is no mention of support 64-bit Office. You should contact them about that.

BTW, unless you have a good reason you should probably run the 32-bit version of Office. If you insist on changing to 64-bit Office you need to check all your Office add-ins to make sure they have been upgraded to 64-bit.

Check out CloneApp and Office Backup - Settings Backup and Migration Tool.

Joe

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Good question...one would think by now that MS would be able to implement a method to do this from Office version to Office version plus one, no?

I imagine that everyone "dinks" on the Office settings over a period of time and has "little" memory of everything they have changed in the various app settings.

K

Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy-W View Post
    I have Office Pro 2013 32-bit on one machine. Is there an easy way to export all of the suite's settings, e.g. each program's options, and then import them into a new 2013 SP-1 64-bit installation on a different machine? I noticed that a program named Office Backup Wizard may be able to do this. Thanks.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks