3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Office XP and Office 2013 on same system

I have been using Office XP Professional for many years even though support for it ended quite a while ago.

I got a good deal on Office 2013 Professional on ebay and installed it without uninstalling the older suite. OS is Win 8.1.

I haven't had too many problems with Office 2013 although there is a learning curve. All the earlier files appear to load properly and I usually save them in the old format.

The only reason I would want to run Word XP is that Avery has a nice add-in for printing labels which does not appear to be compatible with Word 2013. I don't need to run any of the other programs.

My question is can these two versions of Office coexist?

jwoods
    Microsoft doesn't recommend it, but says you can install and use more than one version of Office.

I wonder if this Avery add-in will work for you...

http://www.avery.com/avery/en_us/Tem...oft-Office.htm
    Last edited by jwoods; 2015-12-24 at 13:39. Reason: Added Avery link.

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by jwoods View Post
    Microsoft doesn't recommend it, but says you can install and use more than one version of Office.

And do note on that linked-page the statement about disk space requirement but I find that the actual download is only 108MB.

Super Moderator
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Thanks
    Do note that, when installing more than one version of Office, the older one should be installed first and that only one version of Outlook can be installed.
    Cheers,

Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

Silver Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by macropod View Post
    Do note that, when installing more than one version of Office, the older one should be installed first and that only one version of Outlook can be installed.