Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: OmniPage SE

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    OmniPage SE

    I have a Canon Scanner 210 and the software accompanying it includes OmniPage SE. I can install everything which is on the nstallation disc except Omnipage SE. I receive a message when I try to install OmniPage that "Wizard was interrupted before OmniPage SE could be installed completely."
    How can I install this program?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,899
    Thanks
    420
    Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,434 Posts
    PCL,

    Have you tried using File Explorer to navigate to the OmniPage directory on the CD and running the installer directly rather than from the Cannon Installation menu?

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I'm not certain if I know exactly what you mean. I have gone to Win Explorer and clicked on the Omnipage File and attempted to install it; possible that is what you intend.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,899
    Thanks
    420
    Thanked 1,585 Times in 1,434 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PCLearner View Post
    I'm not certain if I know exactly what you mean. I have gone to Win Explorer and clicked on the Omnipage File and attempted to install it; possible that is what you intend.
    Yes, that was it. If that didn't work try Right-Clicking the file and selecting Run as Administrator.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    PCLearner (2015-12-27)

  6. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Yes, that was it. If that didn't work try Right-Clicking the file and selecting Run as Administrator.

    HTH
    Tried that also with the same results as described in original post.

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,953
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 1,104 Times in 1,027 Posts
    I use an on-line OCR to convert the odd document or two. There are also free OCR packages available.

    cheers, Paul

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    PCLearner (2015-12-27)

  9. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Is there one which is safe, in your view, and does not come with junk?

  10. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,953
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 1,104 Times in 1,027 Posts
    I used this on-line one recently, excellent results.
    http://www.onlineocr.net/

    cheers, Paul

  11. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    It works but I'd really prefer to install my OmniPage OCR where I don't have to go to a website.
    Last edited by PCLearner; 2015-12-27 at 12:18. Reason: Spelling

  12. #10
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,541
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 167 Times in 156 Posts
    Disabling router and AV s/w may help w/ the install using 'runas'
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  13. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 72 Times in 66 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PCLearner View Post
    I have a Canon Scanner 210 and the software accompanying it includes OmniPage SE. I can install everything which is on the nstallation disc except Omnipage SE. I receive a message when I try to install OmniPage that "Wizard was interrupted before OmniPage SE could be installed completely."
    How can I install this program?
    Canon has extensive support online, and you should be able to get help there - just report the problem. THIS might be a quick starter page for your purposes.

  14. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I discovered, much to my chagrin and embarrassment, that I was using a CD for a previous version of my Canon scanner. Sorry to take the time of those who responded. Mea culpa.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •