Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: msert.exe

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    msert.exe

    Good morning.
    Trouble - trouble. I am unable to D/L thus run, the Security Scanner from MS. My Acer 64 bit, gets to the site URL but the marbles just keep going round and round. Can you do a test and see if you can get it at all.
    I run it this very moment on the Lenovo 32 bit but I really had a hard time getting the file. It got suspended twice and I "resumed" it to success. It first said that it could not complete the D/L as in Private was running, was not !
    All fine wishes. Jean.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jean,

    MS may be having a problem w/it's servers. I tried to down load it just not and the browser tab just kept blinking at me. I'd wait a couple of hours and see if they clear it up.

    Here's hoping you have a Happy & Prosperous New Year.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Thanks a mega, RG, for a fast comeback. I will be patient and try it namoro.

    I also wish you the best in the coming year. If only we could stop accruing them ! Jean.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    Thanks a mega, RG, for a fast comeback. I will be patient and try it namoro.

    I also wish you the best in the coming year. If only we could stop accruing them ! Jean.
    I just downloaded it, both 32-bit and 64-bit, using my MacBook Pro, saved them onto my NAS drive.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jean & Berton,

    Berton's post got me to wondering so I tried it again w/same results using Pale Moon. I have the IE Tab Extension so I switched the rendering engine and walla the site displayed and downloaded. MS must have that page locked to IE!

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,072
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Jean & Berton,

    Berton's post got me to wondering so I tried it again w/same results using Pale Moon. I have the IE Tab Extension so I switched the rendering engine and walla the site displayed and downloaded. MS must have that page locked to IE!

    HTH
    I forgot to mention I was using Firefox and the version of Mac OS X is El Capitan [the latest].

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Me again, RG.

    >>> MS must have that page locked to IE! <<<

    Not so, here I use nothing but IE. The Lenovo accepted the D/L but the Acer not !
    I forgot to say that I also tried Edge, nojoy !

    What is this "Tab extension "? What do you feed it in winter ? Jean.
    Last edited by handcuff36; 2015-12-28 at 14:14.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jean,

    The IE Tab extension is an add-on to FF & PM that let's you switch the page rendering engine from FF/PM (Gecko I think) to IE, and back again, by right clicking the tab.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    OK, RG, not useable here, I only do IE.
    Still not D/L of msert.exe, I will try later even if I do not know why as every time that I run it, I get a goose egg as result. So this is not a prime necessity for me. Thanks anyway and may 2016 be good to you. Jean.

  10. #10
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by handcuff36 View Post
    OK, RG, not useable here, I only do IE.
    Still not D/L of msert.exe, I will try later even if I do not know why as every time that I run it, I get a goose egg as result. So this is not a prime necessity for me. Thanks anyway and may 2016 be good to you. Jean.
    I just downloaded it using IE11 on a Win 7 laptop, from this location...

    http://www.microsoft.com/security/sc...s/default.aspx

    You might try disabling any add-ons, or do a reset of IE.

    Create a System Restore point first.

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi jwoods! I just tried your link with FF. No joy! Internet Explorer worked. Edge also worked. FF failed to down load!!

  12. #12
    jwoods
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by holdum333 View Post
    Hi jwoods! I just tried your link with FF. No joy! Internet Explorer worked. Edge also worked. FF failed to down load!!
    I just downloaded it using Firefox 43.0.3.

    If the problem persists, I would recommend the same thing for Firefox...create a restore point, disable add-ons, or reset.

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    J., good day.
    I do not think that it is an IE thing, here, same problem with Edge.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    j. me still.
    Still unable to get msert.exe to even D/L on the 64 bit Acer. I had a good look at the screen to this msert on the Lenovo and there is this option to D/L the 64 bit file. Got it ! I then, on my LAN, moved it to the Acer and voilà, it is at the moment doing its trick.

    It really escapes me why it would not D/L on the 64 bit machine. I have two and next will copy it to the second one. This is dedication beyond the call as I never get any bad file to remove. I scrutinize my c:\ often enough and unless they are well hidden, I catch whatever is undesired, eg: Real Solution. I ignore how I got that one and will never know.

    None of the suggested actions seen here help my quandary. IE was so reluctant in letting me do this, a run-around had to be used.

    You be good and let 2016 be good to you too. Jean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •