Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Upgrade from W7 to W10 with some programs and Documents on different drive than OS

    Good Afternoon!

    I have a nicely working W7 Professional 64 machine. I have the OS on an SSD (Drive C:). To save space on the SSD, I have installed some programs to my HDD (Drive D:). I have also set the HDD to be where the various windows Personal Folders are located.

    Will the W7 -> W10 upgrade handle this okay?

    I'd appreciate any help or advice you can provide.

    Thanks,

    Rodzu
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2015-12-31 at 14:54. Reason: Added NoparseTags

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rodzu,

    Don't know about the programs but I had no problem upgrading my 2 laptops which have the Documents folders on the G: drive. Win 10 picked it up and didn't miss a beat. Of course as always YMMV!

    Of course, you're going to make an Image backup of everything BEFORE attempting the upgrade so what the heck give it a go!

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks so much, RG. I can always reinstall those D: drive programs, if needed. I'll wait a bit to see if other have also had a similar clean experience.

    Amusing to see that my post changed the ":" followed by a ")" after my "C" and "D" above to smiley faces!

    Bests,

    Rodzu
    Last edited by rgraff; 2015-12-31 at 16:50.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Rodzu,

    I fixed your post by adding noparse tags. You can edit your post to see what that looks like.

    HTH (Hope That Helps)
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, RetiredGeek. Sorry I missed your name the first time. I'm relatively inactive in the world of posts. Thanks for showing me the noparse tags.

    Rozdu

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,610
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 870 Times in 832 Posts
    @ HTH - you'll just have to start signing off as RG

    @ Rodzu - a colon followed by a right hand bracket gives a smilie - click on Go Advanced and then on [More] where it will show you the short hand for the rest.

    When I bracket a drive, I always put a space after the colon - (C: ) because of that.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2015-12-31 at 18:19.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    stuart florida
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I'm organized the same way and had no issues.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •