Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Using Nero Burning 5.5.5.6 with an Iomega CD-R/W

    I'm trying to record a data (file) CD with Nero Burning using an Iomega CD/RW cd writer, but it shows up in Nero Burning as an "Image Recorder", and when I request to start the burn, it asks for the name of the image file. What I want is for the folder tree to be copied onto the CDR/W.

    Does anyone have any familiarity with this?

    Thanks,

    Steve Weber
    sweber5@ix.netcom.com
    sweber@brownraysman.com

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Nero Burning 5.5.5.6 with an Iomega CD-R/W

    Steve - what is it that shows up as an Image Recorder? The Iomega drive?

    Are you using the Wizard to set up this data CD or doing it manually?

    Lastly, are you using a formatted CD-RW or a blank CD?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Nero Burning 5.5.5.6 with an Iomega CD-R/W

    I was using the wizard.
    Here's the situation. The drive shows up as an image recorder under "Recorder->Choose Recorder", and shows up as an Unsupported Drive under "Extras->Autodetect CD Rom". Also, there is no "USB" setting choice for the drive. The strange part is that the Iomega Predator (4x4x24) is listed under the list of supported drives, but the 16x10x40 is not listed, even though the 16x10x40 functions as a 4x4x6 when connected to a USB type 1.1 port (which is what I'm using).

    Incidentally, the entire contents of the Multisession tab (under the "Properties" choice of the popup menu for the destination folder tree) are grayed out (nothing is selectable). I don't know if that has anything to do with the problem or not.


    Do you have any idea what could be causing the trouble?

    Thanks,
    Steve Weber

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Using Nero Burning 5.5.5.6 with an Iomega CD-R/W

    <hr>the 16x10x40 is not listed, even though the 16x10x40 functions as a 4x4x6 when connected to a USB type 1.1 port<hr>
    That part makes me think that the drive is reporting a different hardware ID to Nero. "Functions as" would seem to indicate that it drops its speed due to limitations of the USB spec, and not that the drive actually appears as a different device to the system.

    I would query Iomega as to what they mean by that phrase. From what you are saying the drive has different options for connecting to the PC, and you have chosen USB. Is there any way that you can connect it as an IDE device?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Conflicts betw. Iomega Hotburn and Dell Inspiron

    This is a matter regarding the use of the external, USB-interfaced, Iomega CDR/W "Panther" cd writer (their newest one on the market) with the "Hotburn" software that comes with it and my Dell Inspiron 3800 portable's internal CD-ROM (which is not a writer).

    From day one, I have been having freeze-up problems when booting/using the drive/software (by "drive/software", I meant that, even when the CDR/W is not connected to the USB port, I'm getting conflicts). I've spent NUMEROUS hours on the phone with the technical support departments of BOTH Iomega and Dell. They seem to be "passing the buck" back and forth regarding who's to blame.

    "At one time", I was able to get the software to work okay with both the internal CD-ROM and the CDR/W, but had to avoid installing the "Drag n' Drop" "UDF Packet Software" (using the "Custom" install option, and unchecking its box). I was able to make copies of CD's.

    However, in trying to get EVERYTHING to work (INCLUDING the UDF Packet Software), I tried a number of installation attempts, safe mode bootups (looking for and removing "ghost devices", even "Windows Updates", which screwed up my modem configuration and wasted more of my time in my getting that fixed). By the way, everything except the Windows Update was done while an Iomega support technician was on the line--for two hours.

    Now, I find that I am unable to even get the software to avoid hanging and/or freezing up my internal CD-ROM even without Drag n' Drop enabled.

    Regarding proposed solutions, the ones that seem to make the most sense were that

    A. There could be a bug in Iomega's Hotburn software that's causing the conflict. (As was told to me by a Dell Technician)

    or

    B. I might not have enough RAM in my laptop to accommodate both CD drives. (which was told to me by a Dell Technician who seemed EXTREMELY certain that that was the issue)

    Incidentally, I have also spoken with a technician who told me that the laptop's controller cannot support multiple CD drives, and kept re-iterating that "we do not support external devices". To me, that sounded like a cop-out.

    Some system details: As I mentioned before, it's a Dell Inspiron 3800 with a P3/600 processor. I'm running Windows 98 SE with 128mb of memory (2 64mb sticks), and have approximately 250-300mb of available hard disk space.

    Does anyone have ANY experience with this type of situation? and possibly how so resolve it?

    I've been grieved by this for a couple of weeks (and have spent enormous amounts of time on the phone with technical support)

    Thanks so much,
    Steve Weber
    sweber@brownraysman.com
    sweber5@ix.netcom.com
    Please note: When sending an email to either of these address, please cc: the other address, as I don't necessarily know when I'll be able to retrieve my emails, and don't have access to the first one from home.

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Conflicts betw. Iomega Hotburn and Dell Inspiron

    Let me go down the list to keep things as clear as I can.

    You have installed special software to enable the USB CD-RW drive to work. Since that time you have had multiple problems. Correct?

    In reference to your listed possible solutions, here is my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>:

    A: A bug in the Iomega software. Very high on the suspect list. Software developers put their pants on one leg at a time just like everyone else, and must deal with a myriad of hardware configurations and operating systems. There is no such thing as bug-free software - as I once heard, it gets to a point where it works pretty good, and then you freeze the code and ship it. My own experience with Iomega software is limited to the Zip drives under 98, and I wasn't pleased with it, but it got the job done and filled a need.

    B. Lack of RAM in your laptop. I have never heard of RAM having anything to do with 'accommodating CD ROM drives.' 128MB with Windows 98 is gerenally plenty and should not have anything to do with the drives themselves. How devices connect to your computer really has nothing to do with RAM, but *using* them in practice might require memory - operations such as CD copying are processor intensive, and typically more is better with RAM - but again, I must stress that lack of RAM never stopped anyone from having a hard drive, two CDs, and a floppy disk, along with a printer, scanner, and what have you. Hardware drivers, now, that's a different story - and drivers are software. See (A) for my rant on this.

    Lastly, the laptop's controller that the tech referred to was most likely the IDE controller, and you are connecting the drive via USB. Since it is connected that way, it has nothing to do with the IDE controller that manages the hard drive and internal CD-ROM drive. Not necessarily a cop-out, but perhaps a misunderstanding on the tech's part. having been a help desk person for a time, it's very easy to misunderstand what the person on the other end is doing without seeing it, and troubleshooting skill is something that you can learn, but some people are better at it than others. My goal here is to arm you with enough information that you are not snowed by overly technical explanations - <rant>if the tech can't explain it in terms that make sense to you, or that sound like a cop-out, ask for someone else, and tell them why - politely.</rant>

    Had I been through the trouble you have experienced thus far, I would return the drive to the place of origin and looked into a parallel model, or possibly a manufacturer replacement for the internal drive that is a CD-RW, which would then be supported by Dell.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Conflicts betw. Iomega Hotburn and Dell Inspiron

    So far, you've made the most sense of anyone. Thank you.

    Now, regarding the CD. I'm pretty sure I told you--the problem is limited to the when the internal CD is in the bay--when I'm using the floppy, there aren't any problems.

    In your expert opinion, what, if any, software-related differences are there when the internal CD's hardware is present in the system as opposed to when it's not (when the floppy drive is in the bay instead)?

    I'm trying to determine whether the Hotburn is fighting with other software, or with the hardware resources.

    Steve

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Conflicts betw. Iomega Hotburn and Dell Inspiron

    <hr>So far, you've made the most sense of anyone. Thank you.<hr>
    <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> You're quite welcome.

    Perhaps I misunderstood before regarding the floppy/CD situation. <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22> I didn't realize that you were swapping devices in the bay - I was going based on my ThinkPad, which has a flopy and CD built in (no swapping). in that light, it's possible that you have an IRQ conflict. In most BIOSes you can set an interrupt to be used for USB.

    Nearly always (even though IRQ management is supposed to be handled by Plug and Pray), IRQ 14 is for IDE channel 0 (primary), and IRQ 15 is for IDE channel 1 (secondary). With your swappable bay, this might not be the case. I can't give you step-by-step with an Inspiron for setting IRQs manually, but that sounds like the most promising lead: setting an IRQ for the USB port/bus and the device bay that do not conflict. It's not a fun thing to do, but if it gets things working, it's worth it hey?

    You can see what the current IRQ assigned to these devices is by looking at them in Device Manager (Control Panel / System / Device Manager). Open the device, and look at the resources tab. Check the IRQ assignment with the floppy in place, and then put the CD-ROM in the bay and check again, also checking to see if the USB hub has an IRQ assigned to it. See if anything changes. Even if you don't see any changes I would definitely try this "fix" and see if it resolves the problem. <img src=/S/grovel.gif border=0 alt=grovel width=31 height=23>

    Hotburn might not be fighting, <img src=/S/bif.gif border=0 alt=bif width=70 height=28> it just may be acting on a clueless and confusing set of instructions from the BIOS and/or Windows. <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>
    -Mark

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Conflicts betw. Iomega Hotburn and Dell Inspiron

    I'm a bit confused. You're suggesting to me to set a non-conflicting IRQ for the USB port, correct?

    What I don't understand is, the IRQ for the bay doesn't change, regardless of which peripheral is in it (CD-ROM or Floppy), correct? That being the case, why does my floppy drive not cause the conflict(s) that the cd-rom drive is causing?
    Just a thought.

    Anyway, I've got some news. I went into my device manager, and got the shock of my life. there were duplicates all over the place. I had a duplicate for most of the devices. Some of the devices had multiple duplicates. My hard disk showed up FIVE TIMES. Anyway, I went and carefully removed all of the duplicates, rebooted, let the devices get re-detected, etc. . . .

    I then uninstalled the Hotburn software and re-installed it. It seems that the EXACT problem (being I waited very patiently to determine if this might be the case) is that, upon initial access of the CD drive (meaning every time a CD is inserted into the drive), the system is tied down for over five minutes. BUT, once it comes back to life again, there doesn't seem to be any problem. Eg. I inserted a CD into both the Iomege CD/RW and the internal CD, and was able to see both without any problems.

    In summary, the SPECIFIC problem is now one of "initial access to the internal cd". It's NOT a total freeze-up. In your expert knowledge, what generally occurs inside the system when a CD is first inserted (is there any addressing going, etc. . ) What INITIALLY happens whenever a CD is inserted?--that should point us right to the problem. Is the internal fighting with CDR/W to access the resources it needs for five minutes, until the CDR/W finally gives in and allows it to have the resource(s) it needs? What?

    I hope this helps you in your quest to help me.
    Again, I appreciate you're trying to help.

    Very sincerely
    Steve Weber

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Conflicts betw. Iomega Hotburn and Dell Inspiron

    Hi Steve,

    Yes, I was suggesting that you manually assign IRQs to the devices in question rather than let Windows handle the IRQ assignment. It will eliminate a possibility. If it solves the problem, that's great.

    Initial access is now the problem....when you first insert a CD, typically it spins up and the TOC (table of contents) is read. As for what is happening on the device chain internally, I am a lot grayer in this area and will have to defer to someone else to explain it.
    -Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •