Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Missing Program

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Missing Program

    When I try to sign in to my account, I get a message that says "This program can't start because "rtl 120.bpl" is missing from your computer. Try installing this program to fix this program." This is all news to me. I'm not sure where that message came from or how I get rid of it. Any help out there?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Are you using any "tune up" programs ?

    Try using your restore points back to when you no longer get the alert.

    If you are unable to do this in normal mode, then boot up into Safe Mode to try the restore points.

  3. #3
    jwoods
    Guest
    rtl120.bpl is part of IObit's Advanced System Care.

    You can either re-install it, or use System Restore to roll back to a point before the issue started.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    I got this for the file but I've seen it linked to another tune up program but it is prominent on the IObit forum as being part of ASC.

    http://www.freefixer.com/library/file/rtl120.bpl-42131/

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    You might be able to resolve the issue by simply uninstalling and reinstalling the afflicted product (do what the error message says).

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,621
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 877 Times in 839 Posts
    Better still - if you are using a tune up program that relies on cleaning the registry then just uninstall it as they are snake oil.

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,154
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    @ lolidad1

    Just uninstall "Advanced System Care" from "Control Panel\Programs and Features".

    I have attended many customers who were having problems after they had inadvertently installed that program.

    In fact, I tend to consider any program from "IObit" as adware at best, so uninstall on sight.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lodi, Ohio
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To all respondents:

    Thank you all. You were all on the right track. Removing the IObit programs solved my problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •