Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Cannot access three sites

    Win 10 1151 update I think it is. Trying to access 3 sites obviously connected by the way they are written and out of at least 100 sites bookmarked I cannot connect to only these sites.

    Everything is at default settings Win 10, Router (Linksys E 4200), and all Browsers the same. Connection just cycles and times out. It happens on all machines 4 of them on all browsers including my tablet. Reset the E4200, back to factory, restart and still cannot connect.
    IPv6 enabled. Diabled and still does not connect.
    Actually never had this problem before Win 10.

    Oh, I can access these sites through a free Proxy Server. What is blocking these sites? Anyone have an idea?
    Firewall on, using Malwarebytes and Win Defender. That is all. Pretty basic and simple.
    Last edited by DRN; 2016-01-12 at 09:56.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Details of the sites and your ISP, please.

    Also details of any security software/settings that are common to all machines.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    when things don't work it drives me nuts. Gotta be something foolish in the router.
    Windstream is ISP.
    Win Firewall default.
    Web Browser Ad block disabled still no connection. Set to accept cookies
    everything default settings.
    WPS
    Security:
    WPA2/WPA
    Mixed Mode on Router

    The only 3 sites:
    www.stereophile.com
    www.analogplanet.com
    www.audiostream.com

    Obviously on the same server.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    I use a test site to check that all is well first. Go to nwtools.com and use the http headers test.
    Next ping the site from your computer - open a Command Prompt and type "ping www.stereophile.com".
    Also ping the IP address obtained from nwtools - "ping 64.93.76.214".
    Let us know what happens.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Headers test/ssl check same either way as follows>
    139.55.151.73 is from United States (US) in region North America
    Input: 139.55.151.73
    canonical name: h73.151.55.139.dynamic.ip.windstream.net
    Registered Domain: windstream.net

    A connection with the server could not be established
    No headers downloaded

    ping >> 64.93.76.214
    4 sent 32 bits> recieved 0> 4 timed out> lost 4 (100% loss)
    Last edited by DRN; 2016-01-12 at 11:13.

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 984 Times in 914 Posts
    "A connection with the server could not be established" tells you there is a network problem somewhere between you / nwtools and the site - it works from my browser. I suggest you wait a day for the problem to be fixed.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Much Thanks Paul!!
    I'll be back with the results if any.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,622
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 878 Times in 840 Posts
    Can you try tracert www.steriophile.com and see where that stops.

    I had a problem getting to a site the other day in Win 7 using Google's DNS 8.8.8.8 / 8.8.4.4 but changing that to OpenDNS 208.67.222.222 / 208.67.220.220 got me straight there.

    Not sure if it was a temporary glitch, but it didn't take me long to change the settings.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Where do you change it?
    "OpenDNS" /
    Sorry no network savvy.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,622
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 878 Times in 840 Posts
    Don't have Win 10 but this is how I do it in Win 7 -

    Go Start - type ncpa.cpl and press enter.

    Right click on the adapter you are using - either LAN or Wireless and select Properties.

    Click on (TCP/IPv4) then on Properties.

    Click the lower radio button for Use the following DNS server addresses then in the top row of boxes type the first set of numbers and the second set of numbers in the lower row.

    Typing a full stop after each will auto tab to the next box to the right and then you can tab to activate the lower row, although with OpenDNS, typing a set of three digits will also tab to the next box to the right.

    This is what mine looks like using Google's - checking the box to Validate settings upon exit - OK - Close will start the trouble shooter which should report no problems.

    What did the tracert cmd produce ?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-01-12 at 12:58.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    http://www.sitenotworkingfor.me/stereophile.com and http://www.downblocked.com/innerfidelity.com and http://analogplanet.com.websiteoutlook.com/ all show the actual IP address is online.

    Looks like it's a hosting company in El Segundo,CA using Net2Ez as its ISP.

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    http://www.sitenotworkingfor.me/stereophile.com and http://www.downblocked.com/innerfidelity.com and http://analogplanet.com.websiteoutlook.com/ all show the actual IP address is online.

    Looks like it's a hosting company in El Segundo,CA using Net2Ez as its ISP.
    OK but why?
    I have never seen this in all my years screwing with computers.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,622
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 878 Times in 840 Posts
    Which browser are you using trying to access them and have you tried with an alternate one ?

    All three work for me in IE 11 Win 7 and you haven't said what you got with the tracert cmd.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRN View Post
    OK but why?
    I have never seen this in all my years screwing with computers.
    It might be that they've changed their hosting in some way (possibly to divert any damage that may be done by DDOS attacks), such changes could mean switching to a service like Cloudflare, those changes could take up to a day or two to propagate fully to all DNS providers but will provide a less vulnerable service.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2016-01-12)

  16. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    all the usual browsers were used.

    Here is the tracert >>

    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.10586]
    (c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert www.stereophile.com

    Tracing route to stereophile.com [64.93.76.214]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms COPPER-MONKEY [192.168.1.1]
    2 3 ms 2 ms 1 ms MyRouter.Home [192.168.254.254]
    3 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 172.16.100.1
    4 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms h176.34.130.40.static.ip.windstream.net [40.130.34.176]
    5 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms h130.35.130.40.static.ip.windstream.net [40.130.35.130]
    6 10 ms 11 ms 9 ms et8-0-0-0.cr02.chrl01-nc.us.windstream.net [40.128.248.160]
    7 14 ms 13 ms 14 ms h32.59.132.40.static.ip.windstream.net [40.132.59.32]
    8 14 ms 14 ms 14 ms 67.106.215.81.ptr.us.xo.net [67.106.215.81]
    9 66 ms 66 ms 65 ms 207.88.13.54.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.13.54]
    10 66 ms 79 ms 89 ms 207.88.12.179.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.12.179]
    11 66 ms 67 ms 75 ms rcb1.dallas2-tx.us.xo.net [207.88.12.153]
    12 72 ms 67 ms 66 ms 207.88.12.130.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.12.130]
    13 67 ms 66 ms 66 ms 207.88.14.213.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.14.213]
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •