Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Quick Launch Toolbar vs Links

    I have used a laptop running Vista for a number of years and I was a heavy user of the Quick Launch toolbar. My new laptop is running Win8.1 (will be Win10 soon) and there apparently is no Quick Launch toolbar. I have begun using the Links toolbar but when I click a link in the Links toolbar it opens a confirmation dialog that I have to click on before it gets to the app I'm trying to open.

    1. Is there a better toolbar available?

    2. Is there a setting that will eliminate the need to click on a confirmation dialog?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    4,756
    Thanks
    171
    Thanked 653 Times in 576 Posts
    You can add a Quick Launch toolbar to Windows 8: Quick Launch - Add to Taskbar in Windows 8

    (It's the same in Windows 10: Quick Launch toolbar - Add or Remove in Windows 10)

    What's the wording of the confirmation dialog you get from the Links toolbar?
    Last edited by BruceR; 2016-01-13 at 00:43. Reason: speeling

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks for the link BruceR. I'll use it to add the Quick Launch toolbar.

    The confirmation dialog is the usual "File Open - Security Warning" dialog box that we see normally at other times. I have tried to do a screen capture of it for you but I can't make that happen while the dialog box is open! I can keep trying that if you want to see it.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks Paul and RG. It worked and a screen capture of the confirmation dialog box is attached.

    Bill
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    That's just Windows trying to be helpful, and failing.
    Check that the program is "unblocked". Right click on the Quicken exe file > Properties > Unblock.

    cheers, Paul

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Paul, when I right-click on qw dot exe and select Properties I don't see "Unblock" anywhere! I believe I have tried all the branches in the properties dialog box. Am I missing the intent of your message?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    No, it was just a check for a possible issue.
    On closer inspection of the error, it seems Windows is complaining about the LNK file, not the exe.
    This post suggests it's a browser security issue.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I've read all the links referenced in that post and they are all about an update in Win7. I'm running Win8.1 so that doesn't apply directly to me and I haven't figured out anything else to try. So, if anyone has any ideas please let me know.

    Thanks for the help.
    Bill

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Did you try this in Internet Explorer?
    Internet Options > Security > Custom Level > "Launching applications and unsafe files (not secure)" > Enable

    cheers, Paul

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Midlothian, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Well, I hadn't tried it because I was discouraged by the move toward less security but I did try it just now and that change does eliminate the permission dialog in the opening process. Now, I'll have to decide whether to leave it that way or not. I'm inclined to leave it set the new way. Do you have an opinion on this?

    Thanks,
    Bill

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,203
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 989 Times in 919 Posts
    Post 9, by SomeDanGuy, in this thread show a possible solution. Test it and let us know.

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 22 Posts
    Consider Free Launch Bar, which I have running on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit and on Windows 10 Pro.

    As the name says, it's free, and yet highly customisable.

  14. #14
    WS Lounge VIP Coochin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    2,157
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 307 Times in 267 Posts
    Whatever happened to the KISS principle?

    All this messing around w/ IE's "Quick Launch" (AKA "Links") toolbar is futile since it is clear from the OP's #1 post he wants to open programs installed on his PC not launch websites or web apps.

    OP should simply create a folder somewhere convenient (e.g.: in "Documents", name it "QuickLaunch" (or similar) then copy shortcuts to any desired programs into that folder. Then right-click on the Taskbar, point at "Toolbars", left-click on "New Toolbar", then browse to your "QuickLaunch" folder and select it.

    You should now have a "QuickLaunch" entry on the RHS of your taskbar containing whatever shortcuts you place in it.
    Computer Consultant/Technician since 1998 (first PC was Atari 1040STE in 1988).
    Most common computing error is EBKAC: Error Between Keyboard And Chairback
    AMD FX8120 (8-core @ 3.1GHz) CPU, Gigabyte GA-990FXA-D3 motherboard, 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1866MHz RAM, ATI-AMD Radeon HD6770 PCI-E VGA, 480GB Kingston SSD, 2TB Seagate SATA3.0 HDD, ASUS DVD/RW.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    To illustrate Coochin's point,
    CustomToolbar1.PNG

    Or if you're a bit crazy like me you take it to extremes...
    CustomToolbar2.PNG

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •