Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,793
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Anybody know why I can't download msert.exe?

    Hello. Unable to D/L this Malware app lately. Anybody else ?

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Yup! I can't get it to D/L either!

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Jean,

    Just downloaded from here.

    Would NOT D/L using PaleMoon, until I switched to IE rendering via the IE tab 2 extension (probably by extension FF), I was successful w/IE (11.0.9600.18125) & Chrome (47.0.2526.106).
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi I can not down load it and have tried FF, IE and Chrome!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    Adblock Plus was going berserk on your link, RG and produced the Internet Explorer has stopped working pop up.

    This also occurred on a Googled link.

    I haven't tried it in Safe Mode with Networking.

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
    Hi Update! I can Down load with Chrome now! Still no go with FF and IE

  7. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Adblock Plus was going berserk on your link, RG and produced the Internet Explorer has stopped working pop up.

    This also occurred on a Googled link.

    I haven't tried it in Safe Mode with Networking.
    Sudo,

    I no longer use ABP as I've switched to uBlock a while back and like it better.

    Try disabling ABP and see if that works.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,135
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 574 Times in 460 Posts
    RG - As a matter of interest, are you using 'uBlock' or 'uBlock Origin'?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Rick,

    Ublock.PNG

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,720
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    What do people think of ublock v ublock origin? I googled and it seems the latter is better but it looks like origin is a fork of ublock. A lot of politics...

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,135
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 574 Times in 460 Posts
    Many thanks, RG. By comparing the icon I went for plain uBlock. I've been more than happy with AdBlock Plus but several people have mentioned here on the forum that they prefer uBlock so I thought it was time to give it a go.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,135
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 574 Times in 460 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb
    What do people think of ublock v ublock origin?
    Good question, access-mdb. I'll be following any answers with interest.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    I have uBlock Origin on Firefox as it is supposed to better that the other.

    The reason I have ABP on IE is that I wasn't aware uBlock was compatible with IE - but I'll give it a try after first trying your link after uninstalling ABP.

    Your link isn't the only site that has recently given me Internet Explorer has stopped working, so perhaps seeing the ABP icon bouncing while trying to connect has nailed down a possible cause for that.

    EDIT - No, that didn't work - just getting the busy while trying to connect - using OpenDNS at the moment because of similar with other sites using Google's DNS servers, but don't have any problems with most other websites.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-01-13 at 17:46.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2016-01-13)

  15. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,482
    Thanks
    283
    Thanked 572 Times in 476 Posts
    Live msert.exe links ~135/137MB:

    32bit.

    64bit.

    The original uBlock was sold on, the new owner (chrisaljoudi ?) then seemed to cease development. The original dev, gorhill, then released uBlock Origin, which is based on his original version but is still very actively developed. Wiki article.

  16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    access-mdb (2016-01-14),Sudo15 (2016-01-13)

  17. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,602
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 847 Times in 809 Posts
    That 64 link worked straight away - Thanks Andy - took a little over 3 mins to download for me, but isn't this similar to the MRT that we get updates for each month and can be run from Start - type mrt then press enter, although it does have a slightly different name.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •