Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows 7 Professional 32 BIT?

    Hello All,
    I was (obviously mistakenly) under the impression that ALL copies of Windows 7 Professional were 64 bit.
    However, today I checked by running DXDIAG on my wife's work computer and found it was Windows 7 Pro, but was 32 bit . . .
    Have others also seen this?
    It is perhaps reserved for business use?
    Thanks ahead of time!
    Regards,
    Bob

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,396
    Thanks
    445
    Thanked 404 Times in 376 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robtlmiller View Post
    Hello All,
    I was (obviously mistakenly) under the impression that ALL copies of Windows 7 Professional were 64 bit.
    However, today I checked by running DXDIAG on my wife's work computer and found it was Windows 7 Pro, but was 32 bit . . .
    Have others also seen this?
    It is perhaps reserved for business use?
    Thanks ahead of time!
    Regards,
    Bob
    Windows 7 32-bit has always been an option, as has Windows 8 32-bit.

    32-bit is intended for backward compatibility, and for systems which don't have a lot of pep. I have Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit for both of those reasons.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to mrjimphelps For This Useful Post:

    robtlmiller (2016-01-13)

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by mrjimphelps View Post
    Windows 7 32-bit has always been an option, as has Windows 8 32-bit.

    32-bit is intended for backward compatibility, and for systems which don't have a lot of pep. I have Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit for both of those reasons.
    Thank you, mrjimphelps! I did not know that . . .

  5. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    To expand a bit on "backward compatibility", the 32 bit version of the OS is primarily intended for systems with 32 bit CPUs. 64 bit CPUS will work with both the 32 bit OS and the 64 bit OS. There are also issues with some peripherals that don't have a 64 bit driver and need a 32 bit OS to work. I used to have a scanner that didn't have a 64 bit driver so I used the 32 bit Windows 7 until I got a new scanner.

    Jerry

  6. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    All our 60-odd Windows 7 Pro PCs at work are 32-bit - almost all have a mere 2 GB of RAM. They are quite old.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,722
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 126 Times in 123 Posts
    Hey guys, gals: I thought all Windows 7-aimed 3rd party 32bit programs work under Windows 7 64bit also; are there some 3rd party 32 bit programs that refuse to allow Compatability setting within Properties?
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/

  8. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    Hey guys, gals: I thought all Windows 7-aimed 3rd party 32bit programs work under Windows 7 64bit also; are there some 3rd party 32 bit programs that refuse to allow Compatability setting within Properties?
    Some older programs that have not been updated in quite a while may not work correctly. Sometimes the installer does not detect the OS properly. Other times the programs use obsolete APIs or try to more directly interact with the hardware than is now allowed.

    Joe

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    ....are there some 3rd party 32 bit programs that refuse to allow Comparability setting within Properties?
    Most apps work. But there are more than a few businesses out there that have developed their own proprietary 32-bit apps that won't run under any compatibility mode in 64-bit Win7.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •