Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,894
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts

    Error in WSclient.dll on Insider Preview

    Hello.
    I get this dialogue now, on the Acer solely. What do I do with it ? So far, I have just clicked it OFF, no harm done. This on the latest W-10 version, 11099.

    0Errot.jpg
    I can not remember banning any app. All fine wishes. Jean.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    24,102
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,164 Times in 1,019 Posts
    Seems like you have an out of date dll. Have you run SFC or DISM?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,894
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    JoeP, thanks.

    It fixed itself, I do not get it anymore. PFM !

    All fine wishes. Jean.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    I just got the same error. Hope its a one shot as well. I went to report it via the Feedback app and found it was already reported with two upvotes. Added my upvote as well.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,894
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    One shot, it seems. No repeat, Jerry.

    Have a great day. Jean.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    Hasn't shown up again for me either Jean.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    Got another one this morning on both my laptop and Desktop.

    Jerry

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    Apparently its related to an item in the Task Scheduler. See:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/c...n_wsclientdll/

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,894
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Jerry, good afternoon.

    Did too, this am. Followed your link here and it was easily "disabled". That instruction was easy to find and do. Keep them this easy.

    All fine wishes. Jean.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    I decided to live with the occasional error popups in case Microsoft fixes it with an update. Removing it from Task Scheduler
    per the instructions on that page should be OK as well.

    Jerry
    Last edited by jwitalka; 2016-01-22 at 12:26.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    Just found out that a Tweet from Gabe Aul suggests tryng a wsreset from a Command Prompt to fix the issue. Just tried it from an elevated Command Prompt. Will have to wait and see if it helps.

    Jerry

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,894
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Jerry, hello.

    Apparently its related to an item in the Task Scheduler. See:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/c...n_wsclientdll/

    Back with us, me anyway. Same solution seems to work. This on 11102.

    Have a great day. Jean.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,917
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 816 Times in 731 Posts
    Yep Jean, I mentioned that in Post 8.

    Jerry

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,894
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Have seen this in the Insider Hub :

    You might see a WSClient.dll error dialog after logging in. We’re working on a fix for this but as a workaround, you can run the following in Command Prompt with administrative rights: schtasks /delete /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\WS\WSRefreshBannedAppsListTask " /F

    The previous solution presented here was more to my liking.

    All best wishes. Jean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •