Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows 10 update problem

    I am stuck on Build 10240. I have tried everything to get 1511 but I get the following error message: "Service registration is missing or corrupt". Anyone know what that means and how to fix it? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Try running the fixit at Troubleshoot problems with installing updates.

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    clover47 (2016-01-20)

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Try running the fixit at Troubleshoot problems with installing updates.

    Joe
    Thanks Joe but it didn't work. The troubleshooter started "checking the bits". After 30 minutes I cancelled the checking; it seemed to be in a loop.

    Paul

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    From an elevated command prompt try:

    dism.exe /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    Joie

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    clover47 (2016-01-20)

  7. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry, what is an elevated command? I got the following error message:

    Error 740
    Elevated permissions are recquired to run DISM (what's DISM?)
    Use an elevated command prompt to complete these tasks.

    I'm computer literate but I must confess I've never heard of either DISM or elevated cmd prompts.
    Paul

  8. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Even though you may be logged in with an administer account, a command prompt needs to be run as an administrator for certain actions so that the cmds are run in an elevated mode.

    This article will show you how to open a Command Prompt (Admin) in Win 10.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html

    Prior to running the /restorehealth cmd as advised by Joe, first enter -

    dism /online /cleanup-image /checkhealth

    This cmd will check your system and tell you if it is repairable and if it does, then enter -

    dism /online /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup and then do the /restorehealth cmd - follow that with a sfc /scannow to check that all is well.

    If /checkhealth reports that it isn't repairable the you are looking at a Refresh or a Reset.
    Last edited by Sudo15; 2016-01-20 at 03:48.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo15 For This Useful Post:

    clover47 (2016-01-20)

  10. #7
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,725
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    Even though you may be logged in with an administer account, a command prompt needs to be run as an administrator for certain actions so that the cmds are run in an elevated mode.

    This article will show you how to open a Command Prompt (Admin) in Win 10.

    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html
    Option 1 is easiest one, but the quickest way to get it is to right click on the windows key (Fewer keystrokes)

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    clover47 (2016-01-20)

  12. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I did all of the above; checkhealth reported no problems so I ran restorehealth which it did. I followed with sfc which admitted there were some errors but fixed them all. So I rebooted with the image DVD which told me to reboot windows and run it from there. When I tried that, I got the following message: Setup couldn't start properly. Please reboot your PC and try running setup again.

    The same messages I keep getting. I suspect the problem may lie in a small error I made when I initially installed Win10. I chose UK English instead of US English (I'm from Down Under) but when the update starts it says Language: UK English (I can't change that); the next line says: Country: English UK which I keep changing to English Australia. I've tried the update both with my original product number and without. Or maybe because it's an OEM number? But whatever, I seem to be stuck on Build 10240 and can't advance.

    Unlike Steven Smith who knocked off Alistair from the top of the 2015 highest scorers list in the Boxing Day match against the Windies but please don't hold that against me!

  13. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Did you create a system image before you upgraded, as you may have to go back to scratch and start again, although a clean install may allow you to set it up as you now wish to.

    I'm puzzled though as to why it told you use the ISO from within Windows.

    You could download the Media Creation Tool and create a new disk as that will have the latest version and MCT may also allow you to upgrade to the latest version, but whether that would allow you to change the language etc. - I'm not sure, so you could be left in the same situation when it comes to future major updates.

    There may be others who are better to advise you on this, but it may be a case of suck it and see, but you'd need an image to fall back on.

    I'm a Win 10 refugee and back on Win 7, so I didn't go that deep into reinstalls of Win 10.

  14. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I too have been considering going back to WinXP. If I can't update my OS anyway, I may as well go back to a system that had never failed me.

    The language bit doesn't bother me, I just don't want to lose my data and utilities. Sure, it's easy to backup the drive but I became a paraplegic recently and my hands and fingers hardly work. I'm unable to even unscrew and replace the HD in the unit. I type with 2 fingers at snails pace etc. Trying the various options took me hours that would take others some minutes; and why do I need to go to sites such as Windows Secrets, PCQandA and other forums for info that Microsux has so badly screwed up? A simple update that has cost me a half dozen DVD-s and countless hours without success? Ridiculous. No wonder MS gave Win10 away for free; if they had charged 1 cent for it, I would have asked for change.

    Unfortunately I'm unable to roll back to Win8.1 for some reason. I think Win10 mangled it when it was installed.

  15. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    Have you tried the direct upgrade using MCT ?

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/wind...ows-10-upgrade

  16. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not sure what MCT is but this appears to be an upgrade from Win7/8, not an update to Win10.

  17. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,634
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 883 Times in 844 Posts
    MCT - Media Creation Tool.

    The idea is to install a later version of Win 10 on top of an existing install - https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...load/windows10

  18. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    MCT - Media Creation Tool.

    The idea is to install a later version of Win 10 on top of an existing install - https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/soft...load/windows10
    Thanks.....but how? They don't tell you what to do when the boot CD with the image says start Windoze and run it from there and when you try that, it says reboot with the image CD. From Windows 1 (just kidding) I never had problems updating until their super-duper-best-of-them-all Win10 appeared, with more questions than answers. And how many people went back from XP to 95? Or from 8/8.1 to 7? Compare that to the exodus back from 10 to wherever.

    10 is not so bad and because there was no $$$ involved (ergo no urgency to flog it quickly for the cash) they could have done more tests on it before flooding a gazillion problems that tripled tech forums all over the net (because MS has no answers, that are simple and WORK). I'm computer literate but imagine Mr. and Mrs. Kafupps who, in their advanced retiring age decided to bite the bullet and get their first computer to keep in touch with family and friends, perhaps overseas or in another state. Maybe even pay some bills online like me because I'm forced to use sites like eBay where they deliver to the door, also because the town I live in has a pop. of 300, 1 small grocery store, 1 post office/newsagent, 2 pubs (naturally, this IS Australia), no butcher, no baker, no bank, no hospital, no doctor, no Maccas or Hungry Jacks, just a Community Centre with a RN 3 days a week, nowhere to shop even if I could walk. I could quite conceivably get hacked just because I couldn't update even to 10511 (I think) let alone 11000. Not sure of these builds, but you get the gist.

  19. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Windows 10 update problem

    Another option here if the troubleshooter doesn't work:

    The code of the .BAT is as under
    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...7-4a743e87e15c


    @echo off
    echo .

    echo Simple script to reset windows update-Credits to shawn Brink for the commands

    echo .

    echo PAUSE



    set b=0

    :bits
    set /a b=%b%+1
    if %b% equ 3 (
    goto end1
    )
    net stop bits
    echo Checking the bits service status.
    sc query bits | findstr /I /C:"STOPPED"
    if not %errorlevel%==0 (
    goto bits
    )
    goto loop2

    :end1
    cls
    echo.
    echo Failed to reset Windows Update due to bits service failing to stop.
    echo.
    pause
    goto Start


    :loop2
    set w=0

    :wuauserv
    set /a w=%w%+1
    if %w% equ 3 (
    goto end2
    )
    net stop wuauserv
    echo Checking the wuauserv service status.
    sc query wuauserv | findstr /I /C:"STOPPED"
    if not %errorlevel%==0 (
    goto wuauserv
    )
    goto loop3

    :end2
    cls
    echo.
    echo Failed to reset Windows Update due to wuauserv service failing to stop.
    echo.
    pause
    goto Start



    :loop3
    set app=0

    :appidsvc
    set /a app=%app%+1
    if %app% equ 3 (
    goto end3
    )
    net stop appidsvc
    echo Checking the appidsvc service status.
    sc query appidsvc | findstr /I /C:"STOPPED"
    if not %errorlevel%==0 (
    goto appidsvc
    )
    goto loop4

    :end3
    cls
    echo.
    echo Failed to reset Windows Update due to appidsvc service failing to stop.
    echo.
    pause
    goto Start


    :loop4
    set c=0

    :cryptsvc
    set /a c=%c%+1
    if %c% equ 3 (
    goto end4
    )
    net stop cryptsvc
    echo Checking the cryptsvc service status.
    sc query cryptsvc | findstr /I /C:"STOPPED"
    if not %errorlevel%==0 (
    goto cryptsvc
    )
    goto Reset

    :end4
    cls
    echo.
    echo Failed to reset Windows Update due to cryptsvc service failing to stop.
    echo.
    pause
    goto Start


    :Reset
    Ipconfig /flushdns
    del /s /q /f "%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\Application Data\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\qmgr*.dat"

    cd /d %windir%\system32

    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\winsxs\pending.xml.bak" del /s /q /f "%SYSTEMROOT%\winsxs\pending.xml.bak"
    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\winsxs\pending.xml" (
    takeown /f "%SYSTEMROOT%\winsxs\pending.xml"
    attrib -r -s -h /s /d "%SYSTEMROOT%\winsxs\pending.xml"
    ren "%SYSTEMROOT%\winsxs\pending.xml" pending.xml.bak
    )

    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\SoftwareDistribution.bak" rmdir /s /q "%SYSTEMROOT%\SoftwareDistribution.bak"
    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\SoftwareDistribution" (
    attrib -r -s -h /s /d "%SYSTEMROOT%\SoftwareDistribution"
    ren "%SYSTEMROOT%\SoftwareDistribution" SoftwareDistribution.bak
    )

    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\Catroot2.bak" rmdir /s /q "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\Catroot2.bak"
    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\Catroot2" (
    attrib -r -s -h /s /d "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\Catroot2"
    ren "%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\Catroot2" Catroot2.bak
    )

    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\WindowsUpdate.log.bak" del /s /q /f "%SYSTEMROOT%\WindowsUpdate.log.bak"
    if exist "%SYSTEMROOT%\WindowsUpdate.log" (
    attrib -r -s -h /s /d "%SYSTEMROOT%\WindowsUpdate.log"
    ren "%SYSTEMROOT%\WindowsUpdate.log" WindowsUpdate.log.bak
    )

    sc.exe sdset bits DA;;CCLCSWRPWPDTLOCRRC;;;SY)(A;;CCDCLCSWRPWPDTLOCRS DRCWDWO;;;BA)(A;;CCLCSWLOCRRC;;;AU)(A;;CCLCSWRPWPD TLOCRRC;;;PU)
    sc.exe sdset wuauserv DA;;CCLCSWRPWPDTLOCRRC;;;SY)(A;;CCDCLCSWRPWPDTLOCRS DRCWDWO;;;BA)(A;;CCLCSWLOCRRC;;;AU)(A;;CCLCSWRPWPD TLOCRRC;;;PU)

    regsvr32.exe /s atl.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s urlmon.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s mshtml.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s browseui.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s jscript.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s vbscript.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s scrrun.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s msxml.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s msxml3.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s msxml6.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s softpub.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wintrust.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s dssenh.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s rsaenh.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s gpkcsp.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s sccbase.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s slbcsp.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s cryptdlg.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s ole32.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s shell32.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s initpki.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wuapi.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wuaueng.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wuaueng1.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wucltui.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wups.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wups2.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wuweb.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s qmgr.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s qmgrprxy.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wucltux.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s muweb.dll
    regsvr32.exe /s wuwebv.dll
    regsvr32 /s wudriver.dll
    netsh winsock reset
    netsh winsock reset proxy

    :Start
    net start bits
    net start wuauserv
    net start appidsvc
    net start cryptsvc

    echo Task completed succesfully!Please restart your computer and check for the updates again.
    Run the batch or open the link and download a ready made one.

    or

    Method 2

    Step by step instructions to get the issue fixed.

    a) Press Windows key + X and select Command Prompt (Admin).

    b) On the open Command Prompt window copy and paste
    the commands (all at once)

    net stop wuauserv

    net stop cryptSvc

    net stop bits

    net stop msiserver

    ren C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution SoftwareDistribution.old

    ren C:\Windows\System32\catroot2 catroot2.old

    net start wuauserv

    net start cryptSvc

    net start bits

    net start msiserver


    c) Wait for the process to complete.

    d) Close the Command Prompt.


    Now, try to install Windows Updates again and check if it helps.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •