Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Atchison, KS USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Taskbar in Windows 10 freezes

    I have been slowly upgrading our computers to Windows 10 and have run into a very annoying bug. The Windows 10 taskbar will freeze up and nothing can be done with it. Has anyone else had this problem and if so how did you solve it? This happens intermittently so I can't always reproduce it. When it does happen the only was I have gotten it to work again is by doing a complete reinstall. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

    Dena
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge." - Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    LOacey, Washington, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Maybe I've experience the same or similar problem. I don't know what you mean by the taskbar freezing. Does it mean that you cannot start any program that shows on the taskbar or use the search window or start button? I have the problem that nothing happens when the start button is clicked (left click). This problem just cropped up a few days ago. In my case, the right click or the start button works normally. If anyone can answer your question, or mine if it is similar, we'd (I'd) would like to hear about how to fix it.
    Don P

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    561
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    I've not had my taskbar freeze up. Were it to happen to me, I'd wrap a battery blanket around it and let it warm up for a couple of hours!


  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Check your event logs.

    Have you tried using Task Manager to see if something has taken over your PC when this happens?

    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,796
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I've had it happen a couple of times and a reboot always fixes it.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

    Restart will fill frozen start button.

    Quote Originally Posted by dseago View Post
    I have been slowly upgrading our computers to Windows 10 and have run into a very annoying bug. The Windows 10 taskbar will freeze up and nothing can be done with it. Has anyone else had this problem and if so how did you solve it? This happens intermittently so I can't always reproduce it. When it does happen the only was I have gotten it to work again is by doing a complete reinstall. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

    Dena
    Yes this has happened 5 or 6 times now with win 10. At first I was fixing it with a restore point but now know that a restart will fix it. For me it is the start button that wont work but a right click on the start button will work. If it happens again I will pay attention to the rest of things on the task bar.

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    LOacey, Washington, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    KiwipeteW - at last someone has the same problem I've had - 'frozen' start button with left click, but right click works fine. The first time I experienced this, restart did the job - 'unfrozen' Start button. Now it has happened again (several days later) but restart does not fix it now, nor full shutdown with reboot. I considered the classic Restore this last time, but last restore point was weeks back and I did not want to risk losing a bunch of other changes (including a Microsoft update.) Hopefully you may run across some clue what is going on here. BTW, the Search does not work as well, but taskbar shortcuts to other programs work fine.
    Big Don

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    LOacey, Washington, USA
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Problem solved, at least for me. Again, I experienced start button 'freeze' and inability to do a search in the standard search window.
    This was on my wife's PC, not my own which is quite a bit more powerful. Anyway, Malwarebytes was running on the laptop and I noted that it was using up around 50% of the cpu when it ran. I uninstalled Malwarebytes, rebooted, and the problem disappeared. It has not occurred since. I'm not saying that Malwarebytes, per se, was the cause of the problem. Any app using up a lot of cpu is likely going to lead to the problem. I'd try to remove that sucker and see if the problem ceases.

    don332

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger KIWIpeteW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by don332 View Post
    Problem solved, at least for me. Again, I experienced start button 'freeze' and inability to do a search in the standard search window.
    This was on my wife's PC, not my own which is quite a bit more powerful. Anyway, Malwarebytes was running on the laptop and I noted that it was using up around 50% of the cpu when it ran. I uninstalled Malwarebytes, rebooted, and the problem disappeared. It has not occurred since. I'm not saying that Malwarebytes, per se, was the cause of the problem. Any app using up a lot of cpu is likely going to lead to the problem. I'd try to remove that sucker and see if the problem ceases.

    don332
    I have not got Malwarebytes to uninstall but next time it happens I will check to see if a app is using lots of CPU. I had a lot of trouble getting it right after the last freeze up and even a restore point wouldn't fix it.I tried to read the Event logs but couldn't understand what all the errors meant. Well I understood some which seem to be saying I was off line which would explain why Chrome Browser was frozen.Thanks for the tip JoeP517. I'm slowly learning a bit more on these things.
    Thanks Pete

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you want to know more about the errors in the event log post some here. Someone will try to help.

    Joe

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    KIWIpeteW (2016-02-10)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •