Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts

    Code editor with nav pane like Word?

    You know the Nav Pane in MS Word? If you set Heading styles [H1, H2, H3-9], the Nav Pane enables you to identify and get to the relevant place in your document with one click.

    Does that facility exist in any code editor? Maybe implemented via comment system--eg start your comment with the equivalent of H1, H2 and it'll show in a nav pane.

    I'm finding it tiresome scrolling thru hundreds of lines to check or find bits of code. I've looked at code folding, which doesn't seem to be what I'm after. Code I work with is VBA, HTML, CSS, maybe Python later this year.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    Notepad++ has a Function List pane that should yield what you need, though you might have to do some configuration to tell it what constitutes a function in the languages you are using. It looks like python function support is built in, you'll have to define what a function is in the other languages (or google for it).

    Eclipse has an Outline pane that also provides this function, and the outline feature supports HTML and CSS out of the box (you will need the "Eclipse IDE for Java EE Developers" downloa). There is a python development plugin that you'll have to add in; and unfortunately no VBA support. But Eclipse is an integrated development environment (IDE), not a plain text editor, so it'll pretty much force you to use its directory structure (files need to be within project folders within a workspace folder), and it also requires that you have Java JDK installed. This might be a little more than what you are looking for, but it does have excellent HTML and CSS editing facilities.

    Also, did you really mean VBA (which is a flavor of Visual Basic embedded within other software, such as MS Office) or just VB (which is used to write standalone apps, including web apps)? If the later, then MS Visual Studio is the tool to use (the community edition is free and fairly full featured). It's Solution Explorer pane lists the functions in your file. Unfortunately, it doesn't outline CSS or HTML (from what I can see) but there is a bookmark feature that you could use.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cafed00d View Post
    Notepad++ has a Function List pane that should yield what you need, though you might have to do some configuration to tell it what constitutes a function in the languages you are using. It looks like python function support is built in, you'll have to define what a function is in the other languages (or google for it).
    Cafe00d,

    I've googled this and tried to install the files (for PowerShell) but every time I do it breaks NP++ and I have to uninstall/reinstall to get it to work. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but surely can't figure out what.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,723
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Perhaps you need to ask on Notepad++'s community RG!

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cafed00d View Post
    did you really mean VBA
    Yes, much of my core business work is in MS Office, so VBA is a crucial part of my setup. Thanks for your suggestions, I'll look into them.

    Seems odd that a simple user definable nav system doesn't seem to feature in these editors. Maybe I'll try coding in Word!
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Lugh,

    Since most of your work in in VBA I'm sure you know about the dropdown that will get you a list of the functions in the current module, but just in case...
    VBAVBE.PNG

    Between the dropdown and the Project Explorer on the left it's pretty easy to navigate your VBA project and with the added use of BookMarks (as you can see I added the icons to my toolbar) it's easy to mark places you are working on for easy return.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Between the dropdown and the Project Explorer ... with the added use of BookMarks
    Thanks RG, I do futz with the dropdown, even naming main Subs a1... a2... a3... etc to help with finding them. I'll have to figure out the Project Explorer and BookMarks, I haven't used them to advantage.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Lugh,

    I'd suggest against naming Subs a1, a2, etc. Six months from now what does a1 do?

    Use MEANINGFUL names so you know what the Subs do and remember that the dropdown will show them in Alpha order.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    RockE (2016-02-02)

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    620
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    I'd suggest against naming Subs a1, a2, etc. Six months from now what does a1 do?

    Use MEANINGFUL names so you know what the Subs do
    Thanks again RG, my bad for not being clear. I prefix the sub name with a1, a2 etc, just to get it top on the alpha sort, So eg:
    a1WakeUp
    a2MakeBreakfast
    a3WashUp

    This is only for a few top-level routines I want quick access to, typically containing a bunch of calls to other routines which do the individual tasks. They are usually the ones which end up as icons on a new ribbon tab.

    No doubt it's inefficient, but it's simple enough for me to navigate and edit, which is what counts for me.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Windows 10 Pro x64 1607; Office 2016 (365 Home) x32; Win Defender, MBAM Pro

    ASRock H97 Anniversary; Xeon E3-1231V3 (like i7)
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970; 12GB Crucial DDR3 1600
    Logitech MX Master mouse; Roccat Isku kb

  11. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lugh View Post
    No doubt it's inefficient, but it's simple enough for me to navigate and edit, which is what counts for me.
    Lugh,

    That's why they call it a Personal Computer, e.g. you can make it work for you!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •