Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    967
    Thanks
    662
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts

    What is the typical temperature I should see?

    Gateway SX2110G Windows 8 (x64) desktop upgraded to 8.1

    I ran Speccy and the motherboard system temperature is 127C (260F) and itís in red
    The small box next to it is green.
    What is the typical temperature I should see?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    cmptrgy,

    That depends. How many HDs, are you overclocking, what is the graphics card setup, how many case fans, what size case, etc.

    All that aside it does seem high to me.

    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Try HWInfo (32 or 64, depending on the OS): http://www.hwinfo.com/

    Set it to run 'System only' and check your temps again. Motherboard temp should be between 30-40C but it depends on the sensor location and the ambient room temperature.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    127C is insane. IF real the case should be warm to the touch.

    That slim case has cruddy ventilation. Make sure the proprietary PSU fan is working as it is your only fan. I note a spare fan header at the bottom of your MB. You could jury rig a fan on the side of that case to pull in more air. But first I would make sure the PSU fan is working, and the case is warm and therefor the old cheap thermistor reporting that temp is reasonably accurate.
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2016-01-25 at 10:25. Reason: clarified PSU fan

  5. #5
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    127-128C is the maximum the sensor is capable of showing, so it's very likely to be false, otherwise
    you'd be seeing a nice little fire & smell happening shortly
    .


    You've got a broken or corrupt sensor. Try another app like CPUID's HWMonitor to confirm it.
    Using more than one utility can cause sensor fudging or corruption.
    Real temps can be confirmed within BIOS if there is any question too.

    The normal temps for most any [desktop] MB should be below 50C.
    Last edited by CLiNT; 2016-01-24 at 21:03.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    967
    Thanks
    662
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    Thanks everyone.
    The case is warm to the touch and is at room temperature
    I opened up the case and cleaned it out. There weren’t any dust bunnies but I cleaned what little dust there was. I ran the computer for a while with the side panel off and the CPU heat-sink stayed warm to the touch.

    Then I found the manual at http://us.gateway.com/gw/en/US/conte...vers-downloads
    The system environment temp ranges are: Operating:5C – 35 C Non-operating –20 C – 65 C

    Went into the BIOS and found the following information:
    CPU Temp (SB-TS1) 59 System ambient temp: 30C CPU fan speed: 2460 RPM
    Smart fan: Enabled

    Speccy still reports 127C “You've got a broken or corrupt sensor” I believe that to be the case. However I’ll leave things as they are unless the owner wants me to address it further

  7. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Use one of the alt. software suggested, chances are that Speccy hasn't got the correct data for your sensor, something I see reported regularly.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2016-01-27)

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    967
    Thanks
    662
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    That's a good idea just the same: I have used CPUID before but here's my opportunity to try another software with hwinfo.

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    967
    Thanks
    662
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts
    I got the computer back and downloaded hwinfo. Here are the results and they look normal.
    Gateway temps.PNG
    I'm not a hardware person but I am mechanically inclined
    How can I find out where the sensor is and how to replace it?

  11. #10
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    They look quite normal, as you said. This indicates that the original software used was probably incapable of correctly reading the sensor, and that the sensor is fine.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2016-02-09)

  13. #11
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I'm not a hardware person but I am mechanically inclined
    How can I find out where the sensor is and how to replace it?
    You can't, it's built onto the board in several areas.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    cmptrgy (2016-02-09)

  15. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    There are fan controllers with temp monitoring probes and other installable temp monitoring devices that will display in a digital readout,
    but they are not worth the effort in most circumstances to install. Especially if your board can display a number of other sensor readings in the general area.

    01.jpg
    Notice the "other" motherboard temps and those located around the CPU area.
    This is more than enough information to cover for one sensor malfunction.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  16. #13
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    CLiNT,

    And you can't always believe what you read!
    BogusTemp.PNG

    263 degrees F! Really, on a system that is cold, yes cold, to the touch and all other temps are in line.

    HWMonitor shows a different story.
    HWMonitorTemps.PNG

    To paraphrase The Fat Man in a Red Suit, "I got Utilities and I'm checking them twice!"

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  17. #14
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    You've got crabs!
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  18. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Chernobylzilla!!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •