Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Setting Tabs (2000 SR1)

    Some my clients cannot click on the ruler in Word 2000 and set tabs at the increments between the little slash marks. They can however go into Format/Tabs and set a tab at 1.55 and the tab mark will go between the slash marks on the ruler. If they move the tab by clicking and dragging they cannot put it back at the 1.55 mark, it jumps to 1.5 or 1.6. Other clients can do this function. There has to be a setting somewhere that controls this, but we have not been able to find it.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Stuttgart, Baden-W, Germany
    Posts
    931
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Setting Tabs (2000 SR1)

    I am not aware of a general setting, but if you hold the Alt-key while moving the tab, you can drag it to any location.

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>Klaus

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Setting Tabs (2000 SR1)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by Gary Frieder on 08-Jan-02 06:07.</P>Dawn,

    You don't indicate what measure unit you are dealing with; I'll guess it's cm?

    Anyway, here is a place to set this in Word 2000 - this qualifies as an extremely hidden setting - I had a similar problem for about a year until I stumbled on this:

    Press Alt+F11 to take you to the VB Editor. (You will need to have determined whether the document is based on Normal.dot or another template.) In the ProjectExplorer window, locate either Normal.dot or the document's attached template (if it's not Normal.dot).

    Below the name of the template in the Project Explorer, you will see "Microsoft Word Objects" with a plus mark to the left of it.
    Click once on the plus sign - you will see a ThisDocument object.
    Click once on this to select it.

    Now look in the Properties window, which should be below the ProjectExplorer window. (If either or both of these windows are not showing, you can show them by going to View and clicking on them to toggle them to show.)

    In the Properties window, you will see an entry for "Grid Distance Horizontal". It will likely have a setting like "9". Try changing this to 1 or 2. Save the change to the template while still in the VB Editor by using File > Save or Control+S.

    Now Alt+F11 to go back to Word. You should now have a much finer "snap increment" in the ruler.

    This fix works through a little-known feature, which is that you can change the status of many document properties, via the Properties window in the VB Editor.
    It appears that in Word 2000 at least, this method is the only way to change the ruler snap grid!

    ADDENDUM: you may also find you're able to change this setting, within Word by doing the following:
    Show Drawing toolbar.
    Click on Draw and then Grid. Change the value for Horizontal Spacing under Grid Settings.
    When I test this now at home, it seems to work. However for a particular template project at work, changing this setting didn't stick, which is what forced me to find another way.
    You can also change this setting using VBA.

    Gary

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Setting Tabs (2000 SR1)

    The fix of going into Draw/Grid on the Drawing Toolbar was a good place to start. The client had Grid origin - Use Margins turned on. Once we turned this off, then he could set the tabs at the 1/2 increments. Thanks so much!

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Setting Tabs (2000 SR1)

    The fix of going into Draw/Grid on the Drawing Toolbar was a good place to start. The client had Grid origin - Use Margins turned on. Once we turned this off, then he could set the tabs at the 1/2 increments. Thanks so much for your insight!

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Setting Tabs (2000 SR1)

    Not sure of any setting for click to grid, but if you hold down the Alt key when you drag tab marks, you can put them anywhere you want and the measurements will display. This is designed to protect users trying to set tabs at exact places from having the tabs in one paragraph just a hair different from another paragraph because their hands wobbled when they were inserting the tab marks.

    The place I would look for a setting would be among the compatibility options.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •