Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Multimedia buttons not working on Dell Studio XPS 16

    Looking for some assistance on a laptop repair. The multimedia buttons on the Dell Studio XPS 1640 palm rest do not light up and are inoperative.

    I have replaced the palm rest and the keyboard and reinstalled the Dell Quickset software but no joy. Removed Human Interface Devices from Device Manager and rebooted system but no help. Services HID is set to automatic

    Any assistance with this issue would be appreciated.

    Dell Studio XPS 1640
    Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit
    4 GB memory

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    The system is fairly old. Do you have the latest BIOS update? Do you have the latest Dell drivers?

    Joe

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    kropptj (2016-01-27)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, updated BIOS and drivers. Thanks for the suggestion though.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    In addition to the touchpad loom and (wider) keyboard loom, is there also a very short brown loom about one-eighth of an inch wide? If so, this should be the loom for the multimedia keys (and their backlights).

    _xps16.png
    Click to enlarge

    Apologies for poor quality photo.

    Hope this helps...

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    kropptj (2016-01-27)

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    In addition to the touchpad loom and (wider) keyboard loom, is there also a very short brown loom about one-eighth of an inch wide? If so, this should be the loom for the multimedia keys (and their backlights).

    _xps16.png
    Click to enlarge

    Apologies for poor quality photo.

    Hope this helps...

    Yes, that is correct, it comes off of the keyboard then to small circuit card, not sure if it is just a pass through to the multimedia keys of if there is some additional function in the circuit card. Both the keyboard and the palmrest with the circuit card the cable to the multimedia buttons have been replaced. No change in the symptoms.

  8. #6
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    If the multimedia keys are backlit (i.e. power is present) but not responding to keypresses then surely this points to the Dell Quickset software not working as expected?

    Conversely, if the multimedia keys are not backlit and not responding to keypresses then surely this points to a hardware fault, specifically with the multimedia keys and their short, brown connector to the mainboard?

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    Fascist Nation (2016-01-26),kropptj (2016-01-27)

  10. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Are the keys visible in the BIOS? Can you enable/disable them there?

    Joe

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    kropptj (2016-01-27)

  12. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kropptj View Post
    ....from Device Manager and rebooted system ....
    It needs be clarified that there were no yellow or red flags in the Device Manager?

    Nothing listed involving the multimedia keyboard in System Information>Components>Problem Devices?
    Last edited by Fascist Nation; 2016-01-26 at 18:22.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    kropptj (2016-01-27)

  14. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    If the multimedia keys are backlit (i.e. power is present) but not responding to keypresses then surely this points to the Dell Quickset software not working as expected?

    Conversely, if the multimedia keys are not backlit and not responding to keypresses then surely this points to a hardware fault, specifically with the multimedia keys and their short, brown connector to the mainboard?

    The keys are supposed to be backlit and touch sensitive. They are both not lit and inoperative.

    the short brown connector, that goes to the small circuit board on the palm rest which is the interface to the multimedia keys, is part of the keyboard. The keyboard has been replaced. The palm rest has also been replaced.

  15. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fascist Nation View Post
    It needs be clarified that there were no yellow or red flags in the Device Manager?

    Nothing listed involving the multimedia keyboard in System Information>Components>Problem Devices?
    There are no yellow flags in the Device Manager. Also the Human Interface Devices were deleted from Device Manager and system rebooted. All HID return with no yellow flags.

  16. #11
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kropptj
    The keys are supposed to be backlit and touch sensitive. They are both not lit and inoperative.

    the short brown connector, that goes to the small circuit board on the palm rest which is the interface to the multimedia keys, is part of the keyboard. The keyboard has been replaced. The palm rest has also been replaced.
    My apologies, I'm obviously not making myself clear.

    If the multimedia keys are not backlit and are not working then, if the short brown connector from the keyboard is actually connected properly, this indicates that there is a hardware fault - either with the replacement keyboard itself or with the mainboard.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    kropptj (2016-01-27)

  18. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Are the keys visible in the BIOS? Can you enable/disable them there?

    Joe
    I am double checking, waiting for machine to shut down after updates. However I believe that there is only one control in the BIOS and it only controls the WIFI button and whether you can turn it on and off. That was one of the original symptoms but was able to manually turn WIFI on through control panel. Will respond once machine shuts down.

  19. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    My apologies, I'm obviously not making myself clear.

    If the multimedia keys are not backlit and are not working then, if the short brown connector from the keyboard is actually connected properly, this indicates that there is a hardware fault - either with the replacement keyboard itself or with the mainboard.
    Is the Keyboard controller on the Main board and not in the keyboard?
    Last edited by kropptj; 2016-01-26 at 22:33.

  20. #14
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kropptj
    Is the Keyboard controller on the Main board?
    Usually. However, it's up to individual manufacturers like Dell, HP, Acer, etc. how they interface their own proprietary non-standard keyboards with their own proprietary non-standard mainboards (and, I suspect, often designed to thwart attempts by third-party suppliers of replacement keyboards). This could be via a replacement for a standard keyboard controller chip on the mainboard or, less usually, by an additional controller chip either on the keyboard or the mainboard. The use of a separate loom for the multimedia keys suggests an additional controller on the keyboard itself. However, I'm just not sure... the separate loom could just be for backlighting.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    kropptj (2016-01-27)

  22. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Harper Woods, MI
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Usually. However, it's up to individual manufacturers like Dell, HP, Acer, etc. how they interface their own proprietary non-standard keyboards with their own proprietary non-standard mainboards (and, I suspect, often designed to thwart attempts by third-party suppliers of replacement keyboards). This could be via a replacement for a standard keyboard controller chip on the mainboard or, less usually, by an additional controller chip either on the keyboard or the mainboard. The use of a separate loom for the multimedia keys suggests an additional controller on the keyboard itself. However, I'm just not sure... the separate loom could just be for backlighting.
    Thanks for the help, I found an inexpensive replacement system board I will try replacing that.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •