Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    PC restart not working

    I have an old home-built PC (2008, core2 duo DDR2 with an SSD C: drive) currently upgraded to Win 10 Pro. For the last few years when I select "Restart" from within Windows, the screen displays "restart", but instead of shutting down all the way, powering off, and restarting, the screen goes black but the PC never powers off and never restarts. I have to either press the reset button on the PC, in which case it will power off and restart, or press and hold the power button to power off, then again to power back on. Any ideas what to check?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Anything in Event Viewer?

    Does it carry out a Restart properly from Safe Mode?

    Is the mainboard's BIOS up-to-date?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    alarntson (2016-01-27)

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Have you tried forcing it, as in a batchfile?

    %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -r -f
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to CLiNT For This Useful Post:

    alarntson (2016-01-27)

  6. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,648
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    Have you tried forcing it, as in a batchfile?

    %windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -r -f
    What does the -f do, Clint ?

    If I'm in a cmd prompt and want to reboot, I enter shutdown /r /t 00

  7. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Event viewer gave no indication that I could tell.

    Restarting while in safe mode gave a slightly different behavior, instead of the screen going black, the word "Restart" stayed on the screen and the circular motion bar froze. I still had to use the reset button.

    The last BIOS listed is what I have from June 2009.

  8. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Same problem.

  9. #7
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Have you carried out any other diagnostics?

    For example, something like Memtest86 to check RAM or your SSD manufacturer's diagnostic tool to check the SSD itself or SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt to check the OS' system files.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    alarntson (2016-01-27)

  11. #8
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    1,729
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 156 Times in 149 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudo15 View Post
    What does the -f do, Clint ?

    If I'm in a cmd prompt and want to reboot, I enter shutdown /r /t 00
    Google is your friend Sudo! It's forcing the shutdown.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to access-mdb For This Useful Post:

    Sudo15 (2016-01-27)

  13. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,648
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    Google is your friend Sudo! It's forcing the shutdown.
    It had been a long day and thought it would be quicker to ask Clint - but Thanks

  14. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    -f closes any open programs preventing shutdown from shutting down (force close).

    I would think this is a OS problem and you should backup your boot drive and then do SFC /SCANNOW from an elevated command prompt as suggested. Following that, if reset software switch is not <ahem> reset then I would do a repair install. But I am surprised Win10 update didn't fix this old issue. Plus I don't think the repair install option is the same any more. Troubling.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Fascist Nation For This Useful Post:

    alarntson (2016-01-27)

  16. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hacienda Heights, CA, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Memtest86 was clean, as was the SSD checker.

    SFC had numerous errors, which reported as all fixed after completion.

    However, still no restart.

  17. #12
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 580 Times in 464 Posts
    Do you have any USB-connected devices attached, like an external hard hard drive? If so, safely eject then physically disconnect them and try a restart.

    (I recently thought my mainboard had failed after my PC could suddenly no longer boot past the BIOS logo screen. I discovered it was my external HD which, when disconnected, allowed the PC to boot into Windows. After connecting it again I found I could neither restart nor shutdown... my PC just hung with a black screen like yours.)

  18. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    554
    Thanked 137 Times in 128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by alarntson View Post
    .... SFC had numerous errors, ....
    That is a bit alarming.

  19. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    6,648
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 884 Times in 845 Posts
    You could open a Command Prompt (Admin) and enter -

    dism /online /cleanup-image /checkhealth

    This will check your system and tell you if it is repairable or not.

    If it says it's repairable then enter -

    dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

    This usually hangs at 20% but generally goes on to complete.

    Follow that with another sfc /scannow to see if it still reports errors.

    If it does then run SFCFix.exe from http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/sfcfix.html and post its report.

    If the /checkhealth returns that it isn't repairable then you are looking at least a Refresh.

  20. #15
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    SFC had numerous errors, which reported as all fixed after completion.
    However, still no restart.
    Run it two more times.
    Quite often that is what it takes to do it's job, if it is capable of fixing whatever issue it found..
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •