Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Kernel error.

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts

    Kernel error.

    I used the option to go back to a previous build and I am now on 11102 for the time being.
    I was getting the a/n error on all cold starts, after it restarted, it ran fine, this on 14251. Anybody else ?
    I have "Insider hub" it. Jean.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,141
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Jean, sorry but what does 'a/n error' mean?

    PS - I'm grateful to you 'cutting edge' folks (seriously), so the rest of us ('stablers'? 'safers') can reap the benefits of your discoveries (and pain). In some ways I regret that I no longer have the time to experiment with the 'Fast Ring/Insider builds'... but I do realise that it's an important role.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Rick, hello.

    The a/n ( above noted ) error is the title to my post. I thought that this was a well known contraction.

    Enjoy your spare time. Jean.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Jean,

    A little friendly advice about the contractions. Spelling things out the first reference makes the contractions sensible after that.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    2,141
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 579 Times in 464 Posts
    Jean, hello.

    Your reply leaves me none the wiser. Hopefully someone else knows what "the a/n error" means. Rick

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    I don't understand a/n eiher but from his I believe Jean is referring to the thread title - Kernel error.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Jerry, hello. How are you ?

    Yes, kernel error. It got worst and worst, I was getting "Kloader exception not handled" errors all the time too after a short while. I cloned back the HD but it did not cure the fault. I disconnected all from the motherboard and was still getting the message. All that I had left on was the wireless mouse dongle in a USB port. I substituted a valid 2.5" HD and it booted. I am off to get a new SATA HD.

    Thanks for your post. All best wishes. Jean.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Hope your new disk fixes the issue.

    Kerry

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Jerry, back in operation. New HD.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Jerry, yes, back on 14251 after quite a few updates.

    Seen as this tread was miss directed, it has nothing to do with W-10, one could delete it all. I first thought that the last build was at fault but my HD chose that moment to fail.

    You be good. Jean.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Glad you were able to solve your problem. Too bad it took new hardware.

    Jerry

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Good morning, Jerry.

    I guess that I am stuck with this bug. The new HD was cheap and much better too, silent, as compared to the previous one. I had a feeling, by ear, that it was continuously defragging.

    Yesterday and this morning too, I worked on this Kernel bug and to no avail, I read and ran all on these two URLs that you gave me and still I could not get over this bug. When the machine reboots, all is fine and I am on it at the moment. I will try again to boot from a clone, directly, as I did before and did not get this Kernel stuff. More to follow.

    >>> Glad you were able to solve your problem. Too bad it took new hardware.<<<

    It was not on 14251 yet ! After the last install, trouble started.

    Thanks for friendly and continuous support. Jean.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Did you try a clean boot?

    Jerry

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Hello, Jerry.

    Yes, I tried a clean boot this very morning, no change.

    But here is a sterling find ! I am booting from a cloned 2.5" HD, slow but good. And all the problems are gone . . no more nag about the Kernel Security Check Failure. This build is 10586.29.

    On this machine, I have undone the Insider "let" so it will not ( ? ) update to 14251, will this save my neck ? I really wish to find what is the stump on this Lenovo.

    My other machine here a twin in drivers and such does not get this nag at all.

    We might get somewhere still in this regard. All best wishes. Jean.

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Jerry, good Monday morn to you.

    I think that we have met with total success here, the machine, all be it running on 10586, is pristine this morning. It booted fine and quick. No new install for me on this machine for a while. I dare not go to Update.

    What could be the problem with 14251 vs this Lenovo ?

    All fine wishes. Jean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •