Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger Odos270's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Question My browsers eat over 1GB of memory

    IE 11, Firefox 43, Chrome 48. When I go to a graphics rich page such as http://funnynhilariousgif.tumblr.com/ the amount of RAM used goes up fast. Right now on this page usage is 196MB.

    I've started Firefox in safe mode, no change. I booted into Safe Mode with Network and no change.

    I've scanned my system with Kaspersky Internet Security, Malwarebytes Premium, Spybot, AdwCleaner, and SuperAntiSpyware. The only thing found was a couple tracking cookies. I even uninstalled Firefox (every trace) except bookmarks which I'd exported. No change. Hardware acceleration on/off makes no difference. Even with no addons, no change.

    I installed/ran Process Explorer and didn't find anything that shouldn't be running.

    rkzxnlm.jpg

    TIA

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Odos270 View Post
    IE 11, Firefox 43, Chrome 48. When I go to a graphics rich page such as http://funnynhilariousgif.tumblr.com/ the amount of RAM used goes up fast. Right now on this page usage is 196MB.

    I've started Firefox in safe mode, no change. I booted into Safe Mode with Network and no change.

    I've scanned my system with Kaspersky Internet Security, Malwarebytes Premium, Spybot, AdwCleaner, and SuperAntiSpyware. The only thing found was a couple tracking cookies. I even uninstalled Firefox (every trace) except bookmarks which I'd exported. No change. Hardware acceleration on/off makes no difference. Even with no addons, no change.

    I installed/ran Process Explorer and didn't find anything that shouldn't be running.

    rkzxnlm.jpg

    TIA
    I primarily use Firefox and will download videos from YouTube, frequently see it use over 500Mb after several hours so I use Task Manager to close it and then reopen [restore previous session/s] to clear that up. A clue when it's time to do that comes with scrolling pages or erratic mouse behavior. It's mostly due to my browsing [or call it habit] so it's more me than the computer. Or in other words, I take responsibility for that particular issue.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Typically, the more browser windows open the more memory used regardless of the client running.
    I currently get >600MB with 9 IE tabs open. Memory should diminish as you close tabs.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger Odos270's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I guess I wasn't clear enough. LOL When I hit that page I linked above, it only takes about 2 minutes for RAM usage to go up. To hit 1GB takes less that 5 minutes (I keep scrolling down so other images load). And I only have 1 tab open. As for YouTube, 3 tabs open (plus 1 for here), playing 3 videos and usage is 400MB or so.

    When I hit a thread in a different forum (music) and there are multiple vids posted, the browser will hiccup until all are loaded. Then it scrolls with no problem and RAM usage is fine.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,078
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 259 Times in 248 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Odos270 View Post
    I guess I wasn't clear enough. LOL When I hit that page I linked above, it only takes about 2 minutes for RAM usage to go up. To hit 1GB takes less that 5 minutes (I keep scrolling down so other images load). And I only have 1 tab open. As for YouTube, 3 tabs open (plus 1 for here), playing 3 videos and usage is 400MB or so.

    When I hit a thread in a different forum (music) and there are multiple vids posted, the browser will hiccup until all are loaded. Then it scrolls with no problem and RAM usage is fine.
    I just got Firefox upgraded to 43.0.4 then to 44.0, the linked page works fine and its memory use topped out at 253MB. Win10 Home 64-bit

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger Odos270's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    If I just open the page and don't scroll, memory use was about 250MB (sitting with page open for 5min). It's when I start scrolling down the page that the memory usage goes up.

    Win8.1 64-bit

  7. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Just a badly coded page (or browser), imo.
    Here with Pale Moon x64 (latest Beta), 24 tabs open/active ~700MB, opening that page adds ~100MB (the x86 version would likely use 10-15% less).

    page2.jpg

    Left arrow indicates the initial page load, moderate CPU activity and slight memory jump, right arrow shows continued page loading as I scrolled down.

    The latest PM version delays full page loading until you scroll, this might mitigate against a prolonged CPU hit from loading heavy pages (some browsers might fully load the page and then refresh).

    (The TaskMan image is over several minutes, unlike the 60 second limit that appears to be the limit in some later Windows versions.)

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger Odos270's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    It's not the only tumblr page that does it. Just updated to Firefox 44 and no change.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    I just installed Firefox, the ESR (stable, for Enterprise) current 38 version, that page peaked at ~825MB and I never saw a gif. The page is badly coded, it behaves pretty well in IE11 though it's slooooow loading. Report it to the site, it's probably some recent change they've made, it happens.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,378
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 147 Times in 136 Posts
    Page worked fine for me on PM, was headed to 1GiB after a few seconds. Back down to 1/2 GiB now that it is closed. Maybe it all those moving GIFs.
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    Page worked fine for me on PM, ...
    Version might be useful for comparison.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    561
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    I'll note that the OP doesn't post a question, so this is more of an observation?

    While I didn't know that memory consumption is high with this many browsers, neither does it surprise me. Internet Explorer is a big memory hog and Chrome has a reputation for that as well. I rarely use FireFox but it's competitive generally speaking and that's what this is all about. They all want high performance numbers and one way to get that is to use large amounts of RAM to cache content. RAM is inexpensive and plentiful these days so this is a reasonable approach to take.

    What I really want to know is, given my browser is a memory hog, why is browser performance still terrible? I don't know whether to blame my security software, the ad networks, or the browser itself. However I note that a lot of web pages seem to stall on a partial update, with content missing in a box for several seconds. Some of the sites I use abruptly update as I'm reading and it interrupts my reading. I hate that!

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hartford, WI, USA
    Posts
    370
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 62 Times in 37 Posts

    Adblock?

    Quote Originally Posted by BHarder View Post
    ... However I note that a lot of web pages seem to stall on a partial update, with content missing in a box for several seconds.
    Do you have an adblocker installed?
    I use Adblock Plus in Firefox and never see that behavior.
    When I test a "safe" setup on customer's machines turning Adblock Plus on and off for demonstration I see these delays regularly when the page loading "waits" for the always(?) slow loading ads.
    Eike J Heinze
    What I am about
    SE Wisconsin

  14. #14
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Yes, ad-blocking will make a big difference on many sites (not sure that the site in the OP is one of them or not), without DNS calls going out to advertising servers there will be less for your security software to do, less lag getting the page loaded and the page will be lighter, using less memory and less network activity.

    My setup includes ad/malware site blocking at the System level (hosts file controlled by HostsMan):

    HostsMan.jpg

    And uBlock₀ in my browser:

    uBlock₀.jpg

    Yes, there's bound to be a relatively high level of overlap/duplication with that number of blocks (HostsMan will remove dupes in the hosts file) but it seems to have little to no effect on browsing speed or CPU usage, both of which are much reduced when compared to loading the 'full' pages.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Stuart, FL, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I found an easier way to clear the memory build up in Firefox than Berton uses (He uses the
    Task Manager). I installed the ADD-ON called Memory Restart. After installation of the add-on, a small green circle will appear just to the right of the address bar (you may have to manually get it there by clicking on the "Menu" Tab (top / right side of the page) in Firefox, then click on the Customize tab. I forgot if it got there by itself, or I put it there). It will turn red when a certain amount of memory has built up in the Browser. The amount that changes the circle to red can be adjusted by the user. When you click on the circle, a dialog box appears asking you if you want to restart Firefox. Click OK and Firefox will close & restart with all the web Pages re-loaded that were open before you restarted Firefox.
    Last edited by roxywsl4me; 2016-02-04 at 13:02.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •